RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

RIDOT Announces Keynote Speaker for Mission: Safety 2010 Conference in Newport, RI


The Rhode Island Department of Transportation (RIDOT) is pleased to announce Dr. Anthony R. Kane, Director of Engineering and Technical Services for the Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) as the keynote speaker at the upcoming Mission: Safety 2010 Conference Luncheon on Monday, September 20, 2010 at the Newport Marriott Hotel.

Kane’s talk is titled “Halving the Number of Fatalities in Two Decades (Moving Towards Zero Deaths).” He holds expertise in Federal Highway programs and policy, performance measurement, highway safety, general management and leadership. His expertise is complimented by numerous awards and honors received throughout his career including the AASHTO President’s Special Merit in 2001. Kane has been at AASHTO since 2001.

Kane is also known for his service as the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration’s (FHWA’s) Executive Director from 1994 - 2001. He holds a B.S. and a M.S. in Civil Engineering with emphasis in transportation planning, and a Doctorate of Business Administration from George Washington University.

RIDOT is hosting the Mission: Safety 2010 conference in conjunction with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). The conference is the first of its kind and will bring together engineering and behavior modification specialists from across the country to discuss a common goal of reducing fatalities and injuries on highways. Other speakers include Rhode Island Senator Jack Reed, Michael P. Lewis, RIDOT Director and Peter Osborn, Division Administrator of FHWA-RI.

To register online or for more information go to www.dot.ri.gov/safety2010. For hotel reservations at the Newport Marriott call (401) 849-1000 or http://cwp.marriott.com/pvdlw/safety/.


Contact: Dana Alexander Nolfe 401-222-1362 x4450 Angie Abbe 401-222-1362, Ext. 4012


Related links

Department or agency: Department of Transportation