RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

RIDOT Reminds Motorists: Texting While Driving is Illegal in Rhode Island, Too

09-30-2010

With today’s news that texting while driving is now illegal in Massachusetts, the Rhode Island Department of Transportation (RIDOT) and its Office on Highway Safety are reminding motorists that it is also illegal to text and drive in Rhode Island. A promotional campaign, “Drive Now. Text Later” is currently underway featuring highway billboards, radio and television advertisements. Designed to encourage licensed drivers ages 16-34 to put down their cell phones and stop texting while driving, the campaign follows the national trend to end distracted driving.

“Nationally, this continues to be an important safety issue,” said RIDOT Director Michael P. Lewis. “Following the lead of our Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, RIDOT promotes good laws and effective enforcement, in coordination with education, and awareness, through campaigns such as this, to make our highways safer.”

Back in November 2009, Governor Donald Carcieri signed into Rhode Island law the no texting while driving bill. Violators caught and convicted of texting while driving in Rhode Island are fined $85 for the first offense, $100 for the second offense, and $125 for the third offense.

Contact: Heidi Gudmundson (401) 222-1362 x. 4009

 

Related links

Department or agency: Department of Transportation