STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5732 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW/RENEW APPLICATION FOR DISTRIBUTOR, MANUFACTURER OR REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE

NEW

- 1. Application(s) must be completed in full, signed by a corporate officer, partner, sole-owner, member or authorized agent and notarized.
- 2. Cover letter on a letterhead stating the company's name and address who is requesting the license.
- 3. Agreement letter with Rhode Island dealership and a franchise letter on official letterhead.
- **4.** Application for Distributor or Manufacturer Representative(s) (must have one).
- 5. Check or money order made payable to: "Dealers' License and Regulations Office." FEES: \$301.50 for each distributor or manufacturer license; \$101.50 for each representative.
- **6.** You must contact the Rhode Island Secretary of State, (401) 222-3040 or www.sos.ri.gov, to register your company or corporation to do business in the State of Rhode Island. Please attach a copy of certificate along with the application.
- **7.** All licenses are issued on a calendar year basis and all expire on December 31st of each year. All distributors, manufacturers, and representatives need to be licensed to have the right to do business with Rhode Island dealers, pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-5-1, et seq.
- **8. For DISTRIBUTORS only:** a copy of a Letter of Authorization from the manufacturing company authorizing your company to distribute their product.
- **9.** Pictures and information stating motor vehicle make and model specifications.

NOTE: If there are any changes in your current license, you must notify the DMV, in writing, and provide a letter of intent. You must also submit an agreement letter with every new dealership who will be selling your product in the State of Rhode Island.

RENEWAL

Your license(s) to do business in the State of Rhode Island will expire on December 31st of this year. Enclosed please find application(s) for renewal of your license(s). October 31st is the deadline to submit your renewal application. All Distributors, Manufacturers, and Representatives that are not licensed by January 1st of the subsequent year following the expiration on December 31st will be denied the right to do business with Rhode Island dealers. Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-5-21, et seq., and § 31-5-1 et seq., all distributors and manufacturers must be licensed before Rhode Island dealers can obtain a dealer license and sell your line of products.

All required documents must be submitted to ensure the issuance of your license:

- 1. Distributor or Manufacturer Application.
- 2. Representatives Application.
- **3.** Copy of your Franchise Letter with authorized Rhode Island dealers.
- **4.** A list of Rhode Island dealers authorized to sell your products.
- **5.** Copy of your Manufacturer/Distributor Agreement form (authorization letter from manufacturer to sell their product (distributors only).
- **6.** Copy of Certificate of Good Standing from the Office of the Secretary of State.
- 7. Check or money order made payable to: "Dealers' License and Regulations Office." FEES: \$301.50 for each distributor or manufacturer license; \$101.50 for each representative.
- **8.** Renewal application must be signed by a corporate officer, partner, owner or authorized agent, and notarized.

If additional forms are required, you may find the form on the DMV website: www.dmv.ri.gov

PAGE 1 rev. 09/2017



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS **DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES -** DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5732 Fax: 401-462-5789

www.dmv.ri.gov

NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR DISTRIBUTOR OR MANUFACTURER LICENSE

USE BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY

D	MV Official Use Only – [DO NOT COMPLET	TE THIS SECTION		
License #		Date	Check # _		
Application Type (cl	neck one):				
│ │NEW 📙	NUFACTURER TRIBUTOR	RENEWAL 📙	FACTURER LICENSE #: BUTOR		
Applicant Information	on				
RPORATE NAME:		D/B/A NAME:			
PLICATION DATE:	IF INCORPORATED, UNDER	WHAT STATE'S LAW?	DATE INCORPORATED:		
	 VS OF ANOTHER STATE, ARE YOU AUTH EASE LIST ANY STATE IDENTIFICATION		THE STATE OF RI?		
PLEASE ATTACH A	COPY OF YOUR CERTIFICAT	E OF AUTHORIZATIO	N THAT WAS ISSUED IN	RHODE ISLANI	
AIN BUSINESS ADDRESS:		CITY/TOWN:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:	
AILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT F	ROM MAIN BUSINESS ADDRESS):	CITY/TOWN:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:	
ELEPHONE NUMBER:	FAX NUMBER:	E-MAIL ADDRESS:			
ME OF DIVISION (A separate applic	cation is needed for each division):	WHAT MAKE OF MOT	ORIZED VEHICLES FOR THIS DIVIS	SION?:	
Name, Title and Add NAME	dress of Each Officer, Partner, Mem		nber, Director or Corporate Officer COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS		
	ised Rhode Island Deale		chise(s) Listed on thi		
NAME	DEALER'S LICENSE #	CON	IPLETE BUSINESS ADDRE		
THE HINDED SIGNED HEDED	/ DECLARE THAT I AM		(TITLE IE ANY) OF I	THE ABOVE FIRM	
	N IS TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY F			THE ABOVE FIRM	
NTED NAME:		TITLE:			
SNATURE:					
bscribed and sworn to before n	ne this DAY OF	, 20			



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS **DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES -** DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5732 Fax: 401-462-5789

www.dmv.ri.gov

NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE

USE BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY

DMV Official Use Only – DO NOT COMPLETE THIS SECTION									
License #		Date		Check #					
Application 1	Type (check one):								
NEW NEW	MANUFACTURER DISTRIBUTOR	RENEWAL	MANUFACTUREF DISTRIBUTOR	LICENSE #:					
Applicant Inf	ormation								
APPLICANT NAME:		APPLICATION DATE:	E-MAIL ADDRESS:						
Company Inf	ormation								
NAME OF COMPANY RE	PRESENTED:	C	DIVISION:						
BUSINESS ADDRESS:		CITY/TOWI	N:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:				
TELEPHONE NUMBER:	FAX NUMBI	ER: E-MAIL	ADDRESS:						
PRIMARY SERVICES:	<u> </u>								
SALES: YES	NO	PARTS: YES NO)	ACCESSORIES:	YES NO				
AND THE ABOVE INF PRINTED NAME:	ORMATION IS TRUE TO		OR BELIEF.		E ABOVE FIRM				
COMPANY OWNER/C	OFFICER SIGNATURE:								
Subscribed and sworn NOTARY PU		_ DAY OF COMMISSION EXPIRES	_, 20						