Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711
o 2014-2015 REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT APPLICATION
READ THE ENTIRE APPLICATION CAREFULLY !!

Dear Medical Waste Transporter:

Enclosed is your application to apply for/renew a permit to transport MEDICAL WASTE through and
within the state of Rhode Island for the permit period ending June 30, 2015. For your convenience, some
fields on the form have been pre-populated with information from our files. If there are errors please
highlight the corrected information.

Please complete and return these forms to the above address or by email at alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov . Do
not submit the application and attachments in a binder. Allow three (3) to eight (8) weeks for processing. If
there are deficiencies in the application, the Department will contact you via phone call or email. You will be
receive your permit and vinyl decals for your vehicle/s when the application is approved, and should contact
this office if you do not hear from us by the end of the 8 weeks processing period.

Renewal applications for the new fiscal year are due May 1, 2014.
NEW MEDICAL WASTE REGULATIONS

The Department promulgated New Medical Waste Regulations effective 10/10/10. The fee structure for
permitting vehicles has changed such that you are no longer required to permit both the tractor and trailer of a
vehicle separately.

Now, only the powered unit of the vehicle requires a fee with an associated cost of $125/vehicle. For the
complete Regulations see http://www.dem.ri.gov/pubs/regs/regs/waste/medwaste10.pdf.

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

Also in the amended Regulations from 2010 is a requirement that all personal authorized to transport or
otherwise handle Regulated Medical Waste must be trained and certified in the hazards of blood borne
pathogens. This list must be amended when new individuals are hired. Certificates of training for blood borne
pathogens for each driver should be included with this application.

INSPECTIONS

The Department has implemented a COMPANY-CERTIFIED inspection program, thus eliminating the
need for RIDEM staff inspections. Each company is required to list designated company inspectors who
will perform inspections and attest to the accuracy of each inspection. A checklist for a unit inspection is
attached. Please make copies of this form and submit one checklist for each powered unit you wish to
permit. Each checklist submitted to this office must contain the signature of a designated inspector and
these forms will be used as legal documents in the event of an enforcement action against the company. The
Department will continue to perform random, unannounced vehicle inspections. Companies must maintain
strict compliance with the requirements at all times. Units found to be deficient upon inspection are subject
to administrative penalties.

Upon approval of a company's application, decals will be issued for the specific units for which a checklist
and a $125 per powered unit fee have been submitted. These decals are NOT TRANSFERRABLE and are
to be placed on the driver's side of the permitted unit.


mailto:alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov
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SPILL MANAGEMENT PLANS

All medical transporters are required to submit an emergency spill management plan in accordance with
Rule 14.7 of the regulations. This spill management plan must be updated when any changes occur or every
five years. This contingency plan must be on each vehicle at all times.

FEES

A fee of $125.00 (made payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island) must be submitted to the
Office of Waste Management, per the attached remittal form, at the time the application is submitted. This
will be credited to the cost of the first unit. You must submit $125 for each additional powered unit to be
permitted. No decals will be issued until payment is received.

(Note: If the units are separate, the cost to permit one tractor (or powered unit) is $125. Trailers are no
longer required to be permitted as separate units.)

9.1.00 SEMI-ANNUAL REPORTS

As specified in section 14.13 of the Regulations, medical waste transporters are required to file a report
semi-annually with the Department. Report specifications can be found in Appendix I1I of the regulations.
All additional fees and inspection checklists must be accompanied by the Check Remittal and submitted to
the Office of Waste Management.

To improve the efficiency of the permitting process for both the Department and the regulated community,
the Department does not require the submission of individual checklists for each vehicle for electronic filers.
To be eligible to file electronically, the company must submit a Medical Waste Transporter Electronic
Submittal Form, along with their application and accompanying data in the Department’s spreadsheet
format only. The data may be sent on floppy disk or by e-mail. Contact the Office of Waste
Management ( alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov ) if you wish to file electronically.

THIS APPLICATION MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY THE FOLLOWING:

An application fee of one hundred and twenty five dollars ($125) must be submitted to the Office of Waste
Management accompanied by the enclosed remittal form. The check must be made payable to the General
Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. This application fee will be credited to one unit listed on the application.
An additional one hundred and twenty five dollars ($125) per powered unit will be required for each
additional unit. All fees must be accompanied by the remittal form and paid before a sticker is issued.

An original (not photocopy or carbon copy) certificate of liability insurance issued in the name of the Office
of Waste Management, Department of Environmental Management in the amount of at least one million
dollars ($1,000,000.00).

The company must submit for review and approval, a description of the procedures to be employed by the
transporter, pursuant to Rule 14.7 of the Regulations, in response to spills or other emergency situations that
could arise during transporting operations. Specific reference must be made to:

1) Type and location of emergency equipment on vehicles.
2) The driver’s emergency response instructions including:
i) Instructions to immediately notify the RIDEM at (401) 222-2797
(daytime) or (401) 222-2284 (24-hour).
i) The name and phone # of an emergency spill clean-up company.
iii) Procedures for spill containment.
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iv) Reference to the Medical Waste Spill Report to be filed with the
Director within 48 hours of a spill pursuant to Rule 14.7e of the
Medical Waste Regulations.

Certificates of training for the hazards of blood borne pathogens must be included for each driver.

All correspondences should be addressed to Alyson Brunelli at (401) 222-2797 (ext. 7134) e-mail
alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov.
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[BEM] Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
E 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711
s% FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE SOME FIELDS HAVE BEEN PREPOPULATED
0 WITH INFORMATION FROM YOUR EXISTING PERMIT, PLEASE NOTE ANY
CORRECTIONS OR CHANGES.

PERMIT # RI (If renewal) -

1. COMPANY NAME:

2. MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:

PHONE:

LOCATION (If Different):

CITY: STATE: Zip:

3. COMPANY OWNER:

4. COMPANY EMERGENCY CONTACT:

PHONE:

FAX:

5. COMPANY REGULATORY CONTACT:

PHONE

FAX

EMAIL

6. INSURANCE COMPANY :

POLICY # EXPIRATION DATE:

7. ISTHE APPLICATION ONLY FOR THE PURPOSE OF SELF TRANSPORTING WASTE
YOU GENERATE[True/False]? [Your status as a self transporter will be indicated on our web site]



7. ISTHIS IS ARENEWAL APPLICATION? YES NO

If yes, have you made changes to:

Designated Manifest Signer List? Yes _ No
Contingency Plan? Yes No
Training Plan? Yes No
Business Concern Disclosure Statement? Yes No

If yes to any above, you must submit the updated information with this application.

8. STORAGE OF PERMITTED VEHICLES (complete if storage location is different than
the address in item 1:

MAILING ADDRESS (if different) :

CITY STATE ZIP

0. Location of Licensed Transfer Activities or Collection Points within Rhode Island (If
applicable):

MAILING ADDRESS

CITY: STATE: ZIP

PHONE ( )

10.  List all Destination Facilities used by your company for Medical Waste generated in
Rhode Island (If applicable):

Company Location Telephone #




11.  The following personnel are authorized by to sign
the Medical waste Tracking Form:

(Company Name)

Name (Print or Type) Signature*

* Designated employees must sign this form to signify their acceptance of this
responsibility.




Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
l 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

6 REMITTAL FORM
*x*x* ALL APPLICANTS PLEASE NOTE PROCEDURE * * * *

The permit application form, fee and all accompanying documents must be submitted to:

RI1 Department of Environmental Management
Office of Waste Management

235 Promenade Street

Providence, Rl 02908-5767

This information must be provided to coordinate your fee with the application submitted.

Applicant's Name:
Permit #:

Mailing Address:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:

PHONE:

Contact Person:
inspections x $125 per inspection = $ (total amount submitted)

FEE PAID FOR FISCAL YEAR 7/1/20 TO 6/30/20
TYPE OF PERMIT APPLICATION:
(| NEW

O RENEWAL - PERMIT NO. RI

O PREPAID PERMIT (For those wishing to pay for the permit in advance of having
available vehicle information)



Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
l 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

o Medical Waste Transporter Inspection Form (Electronic Version)

THIS FORM TO BE FILLED OUT FOR VEHICLES ON THE ACCOMPANYING EXCEL SPREADSHEET
(1 CHECKLIST FOR THE ENTIRE GROUP)

APPLICANT: RI Permit # RIMWTRANS: Date:
Fee Submitted: Amount: Check #:
Year/ Make: / Last 5 digits of V.I.N.:
Vehicle Requirements 14.03(d) Spill Kit
Cargo Body: Required Absorbent Material
Fully Enclosed / Leak resistant One gallon Disinfectant Sprayer
Good and Sanitary Condition Appropriate Labels
Secure when unattended Two (2) sets moisture resistant overalls,

gloves, boots caps and tape.

Identification (name & number) in letters > 3” on Eye protection
both sides and back of cargo body
Respiratory protection

Required Biohazard / Medical Waste signage Scoop, shovel, broom, bucket
Management of Spills 14.08 First Aid Kit

Management Plan on Vehicle meeting Requirements Fire Extinguisher
of Rule 14.08

Lights, flares & other appropriate safety
equipment

Communication Device
In Accordance with Rhode Island General Law 823-19.1-18(h):
| hereby certify that | am aware that any person who knowingly makes a false, statement, representation, or certification,

in any application, record, report, plan, permit, or other document filed, maintained and used for the purpose of program
compliance under this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a felony.

Signature of Designated Company Inspector Name (printed) Date



RIDEM/OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT

235 PROMENADE STREET FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:
@ PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND 02908-5767 Fee Amount Received:$
(401) 222-2797 Date Received:
0 Received By:

Receipt Account: 17-18-211

Medical Waste Transporter Inspection Form Sent to Management Services [

THIS CHECKLIST TO BE USED ONLY FOR ADDING ADDITIONAL UNITS- 1 CHECKLIST PER
POWERED UNIT

APPLICANT: RI Permit # RIMWTRANS: Date:
Fee Submitted: Amount: Check #:
Vehicle Type: Box Other Capacity Reg. #: State:
Year/ Make: / Last 5 digits of V.I.N.:
Vehicle Requirements 14.03(d) Spill Kit
Cargo Body: Required Absorbent Material
Fully Enclosed / Leak resistant One gallon Disinfectant Sprayer
Good and Sanitary Condition Appropriate Labels
Secure when unattended Two (2) sets moisture resistant overalls,

gloves, boots caps and tape.

Identification (name & number) in letters > 3” on Eye protection
both sides and back of cargo body
Respiratory protection

Required Biohazard / Medical Waste signage Scoop, shovel, broom, bucket
Management of Spills 14.08 First Aid Kit

Management Plan on Vehicle meeting Regs of Rule 14.7 Fire Extinguisher

Communication Device (cell phone) Lights, flares & other safety equipment

In Accordance with Rhode Island General Law 823-19.1-18(h):

| hereby certify that | am aware that any person who knowingly makes a false, statement, representation, or certification, in any
application, record, report, plan, permit, or other document filed, maintained and used for the purpose of program compliance under
this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a felony.

Signature of Designated Company Inspector Name (printed) Date



Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
l 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

)

Medical Waste Transporter Permit Application for 2014-2015
Acknowledgement of Regulations and Accuracy of Permit Application

Company Name Permit Number

| , AM FAMILIAR WITH THE
(Print name)

MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT RULES AND REGULATIONS AND
CERTIFY THAT ALL

ENTRIES ON THIS APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT.

SIGNATURE DATE

TITLE

10



