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Auto body application/instructions 1/1/12 

 

Division of Commercial Licensing and     
Racing and Athletics 

 

       
AUTO BODY REPAIR SHOPS 

APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Complete the application and return with all required attachments as shown below.  Please note 
application and several attachments require notary signature. 
 
License fee of $900.00 Check or money order payable to: Rhode Island General Treasurer.   
 

*** ATTACH THE FOLLOWING  *** 
 

• CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE  Policy shall provide for bodily injury and property damage liability for six 
hundred thousand ($600,000) combined single limit,  and Garage Keepers Legal Liability for damage to 
customer property for one hundred thousand ($100,000) per occurrence.   

 
• EVIDENCE OF FIRE SAFETY APPROVAL  Letter from local fire department or state fire marshal stating 

shop has been inspected for and is in compliance with all local and state laws/regulations/codes for fire, 
health, and safety.  Letter must also confirm inspection and approval for spraying.  

 
• EVIDENCE OF ZONING APPROVAL  Letter from city/town stating you comply with all zoning laws to 

operate an auto body shop in that location. 
 

• TAX PAYER AFFIDAVIT      
  

•  CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT “CHR”  for all owners, managers, and corporate officers. 
 

• EQUIPMENT AFFIDAVIT   Complete corresponding affidavit for license type. (Instructions on next page) 
 
• TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION AFFIDAVIT   COMPLIANCE WITH REGULATION 16  

 
• EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT #  Application can be found on DEM website at: 

http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/benviron/waste/pdf/epaidno.pdf 
 
 

Notice to all applicants:   
 
Immediately notify the Department upon any change of information on your latest application.  
 
Inquire with your local city/town to verify if a local license is required in order for you to operate. 
 
Per National Emission Standards For Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) subpart HHHHHH 
you must register your existence with the Department of Environmental Management (DEM) 
For a brochure on this regulation please go to: http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/area/paint_stripb.pdf 
 
Contact DEM regarding the Auto Body Repair Facilities voluntary self-certification program at: 
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/benviron/assist/abdycert/abdycert.htm 
 

 

 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 
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Attention Applicant: 
 
Indicate on the application which type of Motor Vehicle Body Repair License you are applying 
for and submit the corresponding equipment affidavit:  (Only 1 affidavit is required to be returned) 

     1) Full Collision Repair  –  This License permits a Licensee to perform all types of Motor 
Vehicle Body Work.  In addition to completing the application, applicant must submit 
Affidavit # 1  (Page 6) 
 

2) Limited Heavy Truck and Equipment   –  This License permits the refinishing and body 
repair work of trucks over the GVW (gross vehicle weight) of 24,000 pounds, cranes, 
trailers or other equipment.  In addition to completing the application, applicant must 
submit Affidavit # 2   (Page 7) 

 
3) Limited Paint, Restoration and Customization  – This License permits restoration or 

customization of automobiles, but not collision damaged vehicles.  In addition to 
completing the application, applicant must submit Affidavit # 3 (Page 8) 

 
4) Special Use  – This License permits limited, specially identified activities not covered in 

the other licenses within the definition of Motor Vehicle Body Work as previously 
approved by the Department.  In addition to completing the application, applicant must 
submit Affidavit # 4 (page 9) with a detailed explanation describing exactly what work 
will be preformed and what equipment will be used.  Application may be submitted to the 
Auto Body Board for further review prior to Departmental approval.  If granted this type of 
license, you will be restricted to the exact work approved by the Department.  The 
Department will inform the applicant of other requirements, if necessary, to obtain a 
Special Use License.  

================================================================================================= 

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENT 
 

Submit with the application a Criminal History Record (“CHR”) from the State of Rhode Island 
for all owners, managers, and corporate officers.  If you reside in another state, supply a 
CHR from your home state, as well as one from Rhode Island.   
 
A Rhode Island CHR may be obtained by contacting the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the Rhode 
Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”).  One may contact the DAG in person by visiting 150 
South Main Street, Providence, Rhode Island.  To apply for a CHR in this manner, one must bring picture 
identification with the date of birth listed.  Hours of operation are 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Monday through 
Friday. 
 
To apply for a Rhode Island CHR by mail, one must send a notarized copy of a photo ID that has a date 
of birth listed, a signed and notarized letter giving permission to the DAG to conduct a background 
investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope.   
 
The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, is five dollars ($5.00) and payable by check 
or money order to “BCI”.  Please allow time for the DAG to process and generate your request.  For 
further questions about this process please contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400. 
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Division of Commercial Licensing and     
Racing and Athletics 

 

 
APPLICATION FOR AUTO BODY REPAIR SHOP 

 
 
 

 
 
 

INDICATE WHICH AUTO BODY REPAIR LICENSE APPLICATION IS FOR: 
 

FULL COLLISION REPAIR      _________ 
LIMITED HEAVY TRUCK AND EQUIPMENT   _________ 
LIMITED PAINT, RESTORATION, CUSTOMIZATION  _________ 
SPECIAL USE       _________ 

 
 
OWNER'S NAME__________________________________________________________     D.O.B___________________ 
                                        HOME  
OWNER'S ADDRESS_____________________________________________________        PHONE#________________ 
 
BUSINESS NAME____________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                BUSINESS  
BUSINESS ADDRESS__________________________________________________________PHONE#________________ 
 
CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
DO YOU OWN OR RENT PROPERTY BUSINESS IS LOCATED ON?    _______ OWN     ______RENT 
 
If you Rent, how long is the lease for? ___________________________ 
 
NAME AND ADDRESS OF PROPERTY OWNER: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 IF THIS IS A NEW APPLICATION, IS THIS YOUR FIRST AUTO BODY LICENSE?     YES _____        NO ______ 
 If NO, PLEASE LIST NAME OF FORMER BUSINESS AND LICENSE NUMBER:  
 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
DO YOU CURRENTLY HOLD A LICENSE FOR?  
 

VEHICLE DEALER:                YES_______  NO_______  IF YES, LICENSE # ___________ 
 

APPRAISER/ADJUSTER:   YES_______  NO_______  IF YES, LICENSE # ___________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

         
DO YOU MEET ALL LOCAL AND STATE ZONING REQUIREMENTS?         YES _______       NO ________ 
(Attach copy of zoning certificate) 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
HAVE YOU BEEN INSPECTED FOR AND ARE YOU IN COMPLIANCE WITH ALL LOCAL AND STATE LAWS, 
REGULATIONS, AND CODES FOR FIRE, HEALTH, AND SAFETY - INCLUDING SPRAYING/PAINTING? 

 
YES _______  NO________  

 
(IF YES, ATTACH LETTER FROM LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT, OR STATE FIRE MARSHAL)      
 

 

 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 

 
TYPE OF APPLICATION:       _______  NEW       _______   RENEWAL  _______   TRANSFER 



Tel: (401) 462-9506                              Fax: (401) 462-9645                              TTY: 711                              www.dbr.ri.gov 
Page 4 of 11 

Auto body application/instructions 1/1/12 

 
Auto body application-Page 2: 
 
EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT #  ________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
DO YOU MEET MINIMUM VALUE STANDARDS FOR EQUIPMENT, APPARATUS, AND TOOLS PER 
COMMERCIAL LICENSING REGULATION 4, SECTION 4(D) FOR APPLICABLE LICENSE TYPE?  
 

YES __________  NO __________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SPACE REQUIREMENT: LICENSEES MUST PERFORM REPAIRS INSIDE AT A FIXED LOCATION WITH AT 
LEAST 4000 SQUARE FEET OF HEATED GROUND LEVEL FLOOR SPACE.   

 

INDICATE SQUARE FOOTAGE OF SHOP:   _________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
DESCRIBE SECURED STORAGE AREA FOR DAMAGED VEHICLE/S   (Use separate sheet, if necessary)  
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
LIST NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF ALL PAID OR UNPAID, FULL OR PART-TIME EMPLOYEES, OR AGENTS 
WORKING AT THE BUSINESS:   (Use separate sheet, if necessary)   
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

IS BUSINESS A PARTNERSHIP? YES_______    NO_________   
IF YES, LIST NAMES AND ADDRESSES AND TELEPHONE NUMBER OF ALL PARTNERS: (Use separate sheet, if necessary) 
 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
IS BUSINESS A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY?     YES _________  NO __________  
IF YES, PLEASE LIST NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF MEMBERS: (Use separate sheet, if necessary) 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

IS BUSINESS A CORPORATION?    YES______       NO_______       IF YES, LIST OFFICERS NAMES, DOB,  AND ADDRESSES. 
 
PRESIDENT____________________________________________D.O.B._________________________ 
 

HOME  ADDRESS_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
VICE PRESIDENT_______________________________________ D.O.B.________________________ 
 

HOME  ADDRESS_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
TREASURER____________________________________________D.O.B.________________________ 
 

HOME ADDRESS______________________________________________________________________ 
 
SECRETARY____________________________________________D.O.B.________________________  
 

HOME ADDRESS______________________________________________________________________                            
 
LIST ANY AND ALL STOCKHOLDERS NAMES, ADDRESSES, AND NUMBER OF SHARES OWNED  
 (Use separate sheet, if necessary). 

 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 



Tel: (401) 462-9506                              Fax: (401) 462-9645                              TTY: 711                              www.dbr.ri.gov 
Page 5 of 11 

Auto body application/instructions 1/1/12 

Auto Body Application – Page 3: 
 
PER COMMERCIAL REGULATION 4, SECTION 4 F (i):  HAVE YOU, AN EMPLOYEE, MANAGER, PARTNER, 
MEMBER, OFFICER, OR STOCKHOLDER EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF, OR EVER BEEN A PARTY IN ANY 
PROCEEDINGS (CIVIL, CRIMINAL OR OTHERWISE), IN ANY CRIMINAL FELONY INVOLVING 
DISHONESTY, BREACH OF TRUST, EMBEZZLEMENT, OBTAINING MONEY UNDER FALSE PRETENSES, 
BRIBERY, LARCENY, EXTORTION, CONSPIRACY TO DEFRAUD, FRAUD, FALSE DEALING OR ANY 
SIMILAR OFFENSE IN RHODE ISLAND OR ANY OTHER STATE? 
IF YES, EXPLAIN: (use separate sheet, if necessary)            YES_______             NO  _______ 
 
 
 
 
Have you previously reported this to the Department?     NO_______          YES _______   DATE: ____________   
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
HAVE YOU, AN EMPLOYEE, MANAGER, PARTNER, MEMBER, OFFICER, OR STOCKHOLDER EVER BEEN 
INVOLVED IN ANY MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR BUSINESS WHICH HAD AN APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE 
DENIED OR HAD A LICENSE SUSPENDED, REVOKED OR HAD DISCIPLINARY ACTION TAKEN AGAINST A 
LICENSE HELD IN RHODE ISLAND OR ANY OTHER STATE? 

IF YES, EXPLAIN:  (Use separate sheet, if necessary)                                                  YES _______ NO_______ 
 
 
 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
PLEASE TAKE NOTE OF R.I. GEN. LAW § 5-38-11 WHICH READS: 
 
 RESPONSIBILITY OF LICENSEE FOR ACTS OF AGENTS  " IF A LICENSEE IS A FIRM OR CORPORATION IT SHALL BE 
SUFFICIENT CAUSE FOR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF A LICENSE IF ANY OFFICER, DIRECTOR, OR TRUSTEE 
OF THE FIRM OR CORPORATION OR ANY MEMBER OF A PARTNERSHIP, SHALL HAVE BEEN FOUND BY THE 
DEPARTMENT GUILTY OF ANY ACT OR OMISSION WHICH WOULD BE CAUSE FOR REFUSING, SUSPENDING OR 
REVOKING A LICENSE TO SUCH PARTY. EACH LICENSEE SHALL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACTS OF ANY 
SALESMAN OR ANY DRIVE-AWAY TOW-AWAY OPERATOR ACTING AS THE AGENT FOR THAT LICENSEE, AND FOR 
THE ACTS OF ANY SALESPERSON, ESTIMATOR OR OTHER EMPLOYEE ACTING AS THE AGENT FOR THAT 
LICENSEE. 
 
HAVE YOU READ AND DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE PROVISIONS OF TITLE 5, CHAPTER 38 OF THE GENERAL LAWS 
OF RHODE ISLAND AND ALL REGULATIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER PERTAINING TO THE OPERATION OF 
AN AUTO BODY REPAIR SHOP? 

Yes__________                          No__________ 
 
THE UNDERSIGNED HEREBY APPLIES FOR LICENSE PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF TITLE 5, CHAPTER 38 OF 
THE RHODE ISLAND GENERAL LAWS AND ALL REGULATIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER AND MAKE S OATH 
UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE REPRESENTATIONS MADE IN THIS APPLICATION, INCLUDING ALL 
SUPPLEMENTARY STATEMENTS HERETO ATTACHED ARE TRUE.   
 
MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER, OR AUTHORIZED SIGNATORY IF OWNER IS A CORPORATION, OR IF BUSINESS IS A 
PARTNERSHIP ALL PARTNERS MUST SIGN. 
          

X _____________________________________________________               DATE: _________ 
                                                                SIGNATURE  
 
X __________________________________________________________  DATE: __________ 
                   SIGNATURE OF PARTNER (IF PARTNERSHIP) 
========================================================================================  
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS  ___________ DAY OF  _______________   A.D. 20 _____ 
 
X___________________________________________ MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:         
                          NOTARY PUBLIC         
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EQUIPMENT AFFIDAVIT #1 
FULL COLLISION AUTO BODY LICENSE 

 
I,________________________________, of ________________________________________________  
              (Applicant name)                                                               (Name of Auto Body) 
 
Located at:____________________________________________________________________________ 
                                            (street address, city, state, zip code) 
 
affirm that the Auto Body Shop mentioned above is in possession of the listed equipment complying with 
Commercial Licensing Regulation 4 of the State of Rhode Island regarding a Full Collision Auto Body License.  
                                                                         
(1)  Electrical and /or hydraulic pulling equipment (4) point clamp system:   
 

Manufacture: ____________________________          Model: __________________________ 
 

(2)  Current dimensional guides:       Manufacture or publication company: _______________________ 
 
(3) Equipment/gauges capable of measuring vehicles symmetrical & asymmetrical simultaneously (3-D): 

 
Manufacture: ____________________________         Model: __________________________ 
 

(4) Welding equipment to meet manufacturer’s requirements:   
 

(Mig)   Manufacture: _________________________                      Model: ___________________ 
 

 (Resistance welder)   Manufacture:_____________________     Model: ________________ 
 
(5) A paint system or access to paint system capable of producing original manufactures’ requirements:   
 

Name of Paint company: _____________________________ 
 
Name of paint system manufacturer: ___________________________    Model:  ______________ 
 

(6)  HVLP Paint guns that meet current EPA standards:  
 

Manufacture:  ____________________________  Model: ______________________    
 
(7)  Have you completed the Auto Body Repair Facilities self-certification program with The Department 
      of Environmental Management?   _____Yes _____No   

 
(8) Do you have Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work?    
 

Yes _______      No ______  Size of parking lot:  _________________ 
======================================================================================= 
Signed under penalty of perjury:  
     X ________________________________________ 

(Signature of Applicant) 
 
 Sworn to before me on this ___________________day of______________________, 20____. 
 
X_______________________________________ My Commission Expires:    
                        Notary Public     
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EQUIPMENT AFFIDAVIT #2 

LIMITED HEAVY TRUCK AND EQUIPMENT AUTO BODY LICENSE 
 
        
I,____________________________, of ________________________________________________ 
                (Applicant name)                                               (Name of Auto Body) 
 
Located at:_______________________________________________________________________ 
                                            (street address, city, state, zip code) 
 
affirm that the Limited Heavy Truck and Equipment Auto Body Shop mentioned above is in possession 
of the listed equipment complying with Commercial Licensing Regulation 4 of the State of Rhode Island 
regarding a Limited Heavy truck and equipment Auto Body License. 
 
(1)  Welding equipment to meet manufacturer’s requirements: 
 

(Mig)  Manufacture: ______________________    Model: ___________________ 
 

(2) A paint system or access to paint system capable of producing original manufactures’ requirements:  
 

 Name of Paint company: ________________________________ 
 
Name of paint system manufacturer: _______________________    Model: _______________ 
 

(3)  HVLP Paint guns that meet current EPA standards:  
 

Manufacture: ________________________  Model: ______________________   
 
(4) Have you completed the Auto Body Repair Facilities self-certification program from The Department 
     of Environmental Management?    _____Yes _____ No 
 
 (5)  Do you have Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work?        
  

YES ______     NO _______  Size of parking lot:  ______________  
 =========================================================================== 
Signed under penalty of perjury   

X______________________________________ 
 (Signature of Applicant) 

 
Sworn to before me on this _____________day of ______________, 20____. 

X____________________________________ My Commission Expires: 
                          Notary Public     
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EQUIPMENT AFFIDAVIT #3 
LIMITED PAINT, RESTORATION AND CUSTOMIZATION AUTO BODY LICENSE 

 
        
I,____________________________, of _________________________________________________ 
              (Applicant name)                                                  (Name of Auto Body) 
 
Located at:________________________________________________________________________ 
                                            (Street address, city, state, zip code) 
 
affirm that the Limited Paint, Restoration and Customization Auto Body Shop mentioned above is in 

possession of the listed equipment complying with Commercial Licensing Regulation 4 of the State of 

Rhode Island regarding a Limited Paint, Restoration and Customization Auto Body License.                                        

(1) Welding equipment to meet manufacturer’s requirements: 
 

        (Mig)  Manufacture: ______________________    Model: ________________ 
 

(2) A paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original manufactures’ requirements:   
 
  Name of Paint company: _________________________        
 
 Name of paint system manufacturer: ______________________     Model: _______________ 
 
(3) HVLP Spray guns that meet current EPA requirements: 
 
 Manufacture: ___________________________  Model: __________________ 
 
(4) Have you completed the Auto Body Repair Facilities self-certification program with The Department 
      of Environmental Management?       _____ Yes       _____ No 
 
(5) Do you have Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work? 

 
Yes ________     No_______  Size of parking lot:  ______________ 

=========================================================================== 
Signed under penalty of perjury    

X__________________________________ 
                  (Signature of Applicant) 
 

Sworn to before me on this _____________day of _________________, 20____. 

X____________________________________ My Commission Expires: 
               Notary Public     
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EQUIPMENT AFFIDAVIT #4 
SPECIAL USE AUTO BODY LICENSE 

 
The Department will inform the applicant of any other requirements necessary to obtain a Special Use License 

 
I,____________________________, of ________________________________________________ 
                (Applicant name)                                               (Name of Auto Body) 
 
Located at:_______________________________________________________________________ 
                                            (street address, city, state, zip code) 
 
affirm that the Special Use Auto Body Shop mentioned above is in possession of the listed equipment and 
will perform activates describe below complying with Commercial Licensing Regulation 4 of the State of 
Rhode Island regarding a Special Use Auto Body License.    
 
(1) Identify all activities and types of repairs you plan to perform: (Attach additional paper if needed): 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
  
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
(2) Identify by manufacturer and model all equipment you plan to use:  (Attach additional paper if needed): 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
(3) Will you be painting?  Yes ________      No ________   If yes, do you have access to a paint system 
capable of producing original manufactures’ requirements?   
 
  Name of Paint company: _________________________        
 
 Name of paint system manufacturer: ______________________     Model: _______________ 
 
(4) HVLP Spray guns that meet current EPA requirement: 

 
 Manufacture: _____________________  Model: _____________________  

 
(5) Have you completed the Auto Body Repair Facilities self-certification program with The Department        
     of Environmental Management?       _____ Yes       _____ No 
 
(6)  Do you have Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work? 
 

Yes  _____       No _____  Size of parking lot:  ____________ 
 =========================================================================== 
 
Signed under penalty of perjury  X______________________________________ 

 (Signature of Applicant) 
 

Sworn to before me on this _____________day of ______________, 20____. 

X____________________________________  My Commission Expires: 
                      (Notary Public)      
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Division of Commercial Licensing and  
Racing and Athletics 

 

 
 

Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 
  
 
 

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called “licensee”) to conduct a 
business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the 
state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below. 
 

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social 
Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These numbers will 
be transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.  
This declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license. 

 
Please return this affidavit along with your completed license application to: Rhode Island Department of Business 
Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. 

 

 
Licensee Declaration 

 
� I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed. 

� I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. 

� I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state. 

� I am in federal bankruptcy.   (Case #_____________________________) 

� I am in state receivership.     (Case #_____________________________) 

� I have been discharged from Bankruptcy.  (Case #__________________) 
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
Type of Professional License for which you are applying 
 
___________________________________ _____________________________________ 
Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate) 
 
___________________________________ ______________________________________ 
Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401) 
 
Date_______________________________ 

 
 
 

 

 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 
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TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION AFFIDAVIT 
 

Upon submission of a new or renewal application, Commercial Licensing Regulation 16- Motor 
Vehicle Body Repair Technician Certification requires each applicant to have in it’s employ - one (1) certified 
technician, for every five (5) shop employees, to be certified in the following areas:  i) Identification and 
Analysis of Damage to Vehicles; ii) Frame Measuring and Straightening Systems and Techniques; iii) 
Welding in Collision Repair; iv) Structural Steel Repairs; v) Suspension, Steering, and Alignment Systems; 
and vi) Safety Restraint Systems.  
 
Applicant must maintain a record of certification for each technician in its employ. Such documentation must 
include the technician’s transcript and related certifications, and must be readily available to the Department.   
 

*** The Department will make routine inspections or request certification documents by mail. *** 
 

Name of Body Shop: _____________________________________   Number of Employees:  _______ 
 
================================================================================================================= 
 
Name of technician:  _________________________________  
 
certified in: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
School/association technician received certification: _______________________________________ 
============================================================================================================= 
  
Name of technician:  _________________________________  
 
certified in: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
School/association technician received certification: _______________________________________ 
============================================================================================================== 
 
Name of technician:  _________________________________  
 
certified in: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
School/association technician received certification: _______________________________________ 
 

(Use additional forms if space provided is insufficient). 
 

If one of the above listed technicians should fall out of compliance 
 You must notify the Department immediately 

You have ninety (90) days to send in a replacement affidavit 
============================================================================ 

 

I CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THE REPRESENTATIONS MADE ABOVE ARE TRUE. 
  

 X ______________________________________________             Date: ____________ 
                                                                         Signature of Applicant 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS  __________  DAY OF  ___________________   A.D. 20 ______ 
 
 
X___________________________________________  MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:         
                          NOTARY PUBLIC         


