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RI Department of Health 
 
 

Application and Instructions for Food 
Business: 

 
 

 

 

 
 
 
                    50 Seats or Less 
                           
 
                       More Than 50 Seats                                                 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Applicant Name (Name of Business) 
 
 
 
 

Previous Business Name & License Number (If Any) at this address 
 
 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

                                                                                                Initials  Date 
Risk Type   
Approved by F.O. Supervisor   
Profile Entered By   
License ID#    
Receipt No.   
License No.   
Certified Food Safety Manager Required:  0____ 1____>1 _____   
 

 



 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
• Registration shall be based upon Satisfactory Compliance with all applicable laws and 

regulations. 
 
• Registration forms must be either typed or legibly printed using a ball point pen, except signatures, 

which must be written in ink. Please answer all questions. Do not leave blanks.  Incomplete 
applications will be returned to you and your license/permit will not be issued.   

 
• Attach check/money order to the front of this application and mail to: Office of Food Protection, 3 

Capitol Hill, Room 203, Providence, RI 02908-5097. A receipt or cancelled check does not 
guarantee licensure. 

 
Application Fees: 

 
Less than 50 Seats  $160.00 
50 or more Seats   $240.00 
 

• Make your check/money order payable to "General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island".  Do not 
send cash.  This fee is non-refundable. 
 

• If you have any questions concerning this application, call the Department of Health, Office of 
Food Protection at (401) 222-2749. 
 

• Licensure application materials are public records as mandated by Rhode Island law and may be 
made available to the public, unless otherwise prohibited by State or Federal law. 
 

Please complete the section(s) below. 
 

Note to Applicants submitting plans: 
Plan Review 

 
RIGL 23-1-31. Approval of construction by director. – A plan review fee for new establishments, and for establishments 
where the cost of renovation exceeds 50 percent (50%) of the value of the establishment, shall be charged.  The plan 
review fee for these establishments shall equal the annual cost of the license/registration. 
        
       A plan review fee of $                           is included with this application. 
 
       I have enclosed a separate check/money order payable to “General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island”. 
 

 
 
Please check and indicate the type of operation by choosing one only. 
 
          Bar, Lounge, Tavern 

 
 
 
         Cafeteria, Buffet Service 

 
          Fast Food Service 

 
         Full Service Restaurant 

 
          Luncheonette, Snack Bar, Fountain 

 
         School (Satellite) 

 
          Scoop Ice Cream/Novelties (no manufacturing) 

 
         School (In-Feed) 

 
          Take-Out Only 

 
         Adult Day Care 

 
          Other (describe) 

 
          
 

 

 



 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 

Department of Health 
Office of Food Protection 

 
Facility Name: 
 
Please provide the name of 
the facility (as known to the 
public) for which you are 
applying for this license. 
 

 
 
 
Name:  
 
 
 

 
Facility Contact Person: 
 
Please provide the name 
and telephone number of a 
person we can contact 
concerning this facility. 

 
 
Name:   
 
 
Phone Number:    
 
(                          ) 
 ________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                   
 

 
Emergency Facility 
Contact Information : 
 
In the event of an 
emergency, the 
Department of Health may 
need to reach you, please 
provide emergency 
contact information that 
includes a contact person, 
their phone, and fax 
numbers, and an email 
address if available. 
 

 
 
 
 
Name:  
              _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Phone Number:   (                                       )     Fax Number  (                                           )    
                             ______________________________________________________________________     
 
 
Email Address:   (                                                                                                   )   
                             ______________________________________________________________________ 

 
Facility Mailing 
Information: 
 
Please provide the mailing 
information for all 
communication regarding 
this license. 
 
(Not published on 
HEALTH website). 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Address Line 1  
 
Address Line 2  
  
Address Line 3   
 
City, State, Zip Code  
 
Country (only if not in US)  
 
Phone:    
 
Fax:  
 
Email Address:  
 
 

 



 
Facility Location  
Information: 
  
Please provide the location 
information for this facility. 
 
(Published on HEALTH 
website) 
 

 
 
 
Address Line 1 ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address Line 2 ______________________________________________________________________________  
  
Address Line 3 ______________________________________________________________________________  
 
City, State, Zip Code _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Country (only if not in US) _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone: ____________________________________________________________________________________
    
Fax: ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Email Address: ______________________________________________________________________________ 

  
 
Ownership Type: 
 
Please check ONE 
 
       Corporation                                                           Limited Liability Company  
 
       Governmental Entity                                             Sole Proprietorship 
        
       Partnership                                                            Limited Partnership 
        
       Partner 

 
 
 

 
Ownership Information: 
 
Please provide the 
ownership information for 
the Sole Proprietorship, 
Partnership, Limited 
Partnership, Corporation, 
Limited Liability Company or 
Governmental Entity. 

 
LIST ONE ONLY - DO NOT SEND ATTACHMENTS 

 
 
 Name: 
 
                  
  DBA (Doing Business As):              

 
Ownership Address  
Information: 
  
Please provide the address 
and telephone number(s) of 
the Sole Proprietorship, 
Partnership, Limited 
Partnership, Corporation, 
Limited Liability Company or 
Governmental Entity. 

 
 
Address Line 1 
 
Address Line 2 
 
Address Line 3 
 
City, State, Zip Code 
 
Phone:  
 
Fax:  
 
Email Address:  

 
Water Supply: 

 
Does this establishment receive all or a portion of its water supply from an on-site well? 
 
             Yes                                      No 
 

 
Sewage System: 

 
Is this establishment serviced by a private sewage system (e.g. septic system)? 
 
             Yes                                       No 
 

 



 
Employees: 
 
Please indicate the 
number and types of 
employees. 

 
 
Number of food handling employees:                  
 
 
Number of non-food handling employees: 

 
Certified Food Safety 
Manager(s) is required 
if potentially hazardous 
foods are prepared. 
 
If you need additional 
space, please submit under 
separate cover. 
 
 

 
Does this facility have a certified food safety manager?                 Yes                         No 
 
If yes, please indicate name and license number below of primary food safety manager.                
 
Name: 
 
 
FMC #:  
 

 
Chain Information: 

 
Is this facility part of a chain operation? 
                 
                   Yes                         No 

 
Liquor License: 

 
If your facility has a liquor license please indicate the type below.                 
                    
                Class BV                    Class C              Class D          Class F 

 
Menu: 

 
Please attach a copy of a complete menu from your establishment. 

 
Affidavit of 
Applicant 
 
Read, sign, and 
date this affidavit. 

 
AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE  

 
This Application Must be Signed 

 
I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have 
answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare 
under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me 
herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this 
application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for denial, 
suspension or revocation of this License in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an 
affirmative duty to inform the Rhode Island Department of Health of any 
change in the answers to these questions after this application and this 
Affidavit is signed. 
 
 
 
Signature of Authorized Person                Date of Signature  
                     (MM/DD/YY) 
 
Printed Name of Authorized Person  
 
 
Title of Authorized Person 
 
 
 
 

 



State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Office of the Director
Cannon Building

3 Capitol Hill
 Providence, RI 02908-5097

Mandatory Addendum to License Application

This form MUST be completed, signed and attached to your
license application in order for us to process your application.

Pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as
amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have
filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must
have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state
taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator.

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state
tax returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a
written installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

        Signature        Date               Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Furnishing the SSN and/or FEIN is mandatory. The SSN and/or FEIN will be
transmitted to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation pursuant to Chapter 75
of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended.

Verification of Social Security Number/Federal Employer Identification
Number and affidavit concerning taxpayer status

Applicant:  Print your complete last name >
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