STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
John O. Pastore Center
1511 Pontiac Avenue, #68-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

UPDATED APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR THREE-YEAR RENEWAL

Chapter 5-3.1 of the General Laws, as amended, requires an annual license/permit by all persons practicing
public accounting in the State of Rhode Island.

An INDIVIDUAL application for a permit to practice public accounting for the period of July 1, 2010 to June 30,
2013 is enclosed. Make certain that all data required is noted on the application, including CPE hours on the
back and that the original form is returned no later than February 15, to the office of the Rhode Island Board
of Accountancy, together with the $375.00 application fee, payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode
Island. New licenses will be mailed out in June of this year.

INDIVIDUAL APPLICATIONS RECEIVED LATER THAN EEBRUARY 15 WILL BE SUBJECT TO A LATE
FEE OF $100.00 AND YOUR LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED UNTIL THE LATE FEE IS PAID.

The application must be completed in its entirety, which includes cumulative CPE. Spreadsheets will not
be accepted. All CPE must be coded as listed on the application itself or the application will be
returned as incomplete. Please remember that a minimum total of 120 credits is mandatory.

Code 1* self-study - cannot exceed 80 hours (over the three-year renewal period). Certificates of
Completion of self-study courses reported must be submitted along with the application.

Code 2* formal teaching as instructor or speaker (limit of 60 hours) and publication of professional books or
articles written (limit of 60 hours) over the three-year renewal period. Repeated presentations of the
same subject matter will not be recognized for CPE credit.

Code 3* Practice Development or Personal Development/Managerial Skills (or non-accounting courses)
cannot exceed 24 hours over the prior three-year renewal period.

Code 4* other CPE - this would include any CPE not indicated in codes 1-3.

A&A minimum requirement for Accounting and Auditing is 24 hours over the prior three-year period. It
is mandatory that A&A courses included in codes 1-4 must also be listed as A&A.
Taxation courses are not considered accounting and auditing.

Ethics A minimum of six (6) hours of the one hundred twenty (120) hours required hereunder shall be
devoted to professional ethics.

* All subject matter is conditional on limitations in Practice Development and Management Skills

If you have filed electronically (CPEtracking) you must also submit the front page of the application
along with your original signature and fee.

Please refer to regulations at www.dbr.ri.gov, under Board of Accountancy, Regulations Concerning
Continuing Professional Education for clarification of mandatory CPE.

If you do not anticipate practicing public accounting, it is imperative that you notify the Board in writing, so
that your name can be transferred to Inactive Status. In your letter, please indicate the reason, e.g.,
retirement from public practice, disability, etc. However, please be aware that if you wish to maintain your
license, or hold yourself out as a CPA or PA, you are required to maintain your CPE, regardless of whether or
not you practice public accounting. Please log on to www.dbr.ri.gov for clarification of Inactive Status.




STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
John O. Pastore Center
1511 Pontiac Avenue, #68-1 For Board Use Only
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 Date Rec’d
Check No.
APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL fmount -

PERMIT TO PRACTICE PUBLIC ACCOUNTING
FOR THE PERIOD ENDING JUNE 30, 2013

Full name (print) Email
Residence Address Phone
Employer Name Phone

Employer Address

Preference for mailings (check one) residence ( ) business ( )

Record all other states in which you hold or have made application for a permit/license to practice public accounting

Have you ever had a professional or vocational license suspended or revoked by the State of Rhode Island or any other
state or foreign country?  Yes ( ) No ( )  (Ifyes, please detail on separate sheet.)

. Are you engaged in the practice of public accounting in the State of Rhode Island? Yes () No( )

Name of practice unit

Note — Every practice unit must file a separate Practice Unit Application with the Board.

I hereby certify that this practice unit does does not perform  accounting or auditing
engagements including, but not limited to, attest services, audits, reviews, compilations, forecasts, projections or
other special reports.

I hereby certify that | am the holder of an unrevoked and unsuspended Certificate/Authority No. issued
to me by the Board of Accountancy of the State of on (date
of issuance). | have never been convicted by any court of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude. | further
certify under penalty of perjury to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers and representations made in this
application, including completion of the CPE courses set forth on the reverse side of this application. | also certify
that | have not committed any violation of R.I. General Laws 8§ 5-3.1-12, which would include dishonesty,
untrustworthiness or fraud.

Signature Date

Enclose a check or money order in the sum of $375.00 payable to GENERAL TREASURER, STATE OF
RHODE ISLAND. This application must be filed by February 15 or a late processing fee of $100.00 will be added
to the renewal cost. Copies of certificates of completion for self-study courses reported must be submitted with this
license application. Supporting documents or materials for remaining courses need not be submitted to the Board
unless requested but should be retained in your files for not less than 3 years after the annual license renewal date.
Insufficient CPE credits (less than 120) may result in suspension of license or fine of $250, or both. Use of CPE
credits not earned in reporting year is prohibited without Board approval. If you have filed electronically, you must
also submit this page along with your original signature and fee.
Please log on to www.dbr.ri.gov for CPE regulations.




Cumulative CPE Reporting — by Calendar Year (copies of this page may be added if necessary)

It is the responsibility of each licensee to maintain CPE records as referenced in the regulations.

Prior 3 Years Code 1

Code 2 Code 3 Code 4

Total

A&A

Ethics *

2010

2011

2012

Totals

Attached Spreadsheets NOT ACCEPTABLE — CPE information must be detailed, i.e., title and description - omitted information will result in return of
application.  Check here [ if you will be using CPE tracking

Program Attendance Record

School, firm or organization Title of program and description of content CPE Dates Total | A & A | Ethics
conducting program Code | Attended | Hours | Hours *
TOTALS:

CPE Codes: 1. Formal self-study/correspondence courses - limit of 80 hours over 3 years — copies of certificates for self-study courses reported must be

submitted with this license application. Credit will be given for interactive and/or QAS hours only.

2. Formal teaching (yourself) as instructor or speaker and publication of professional books or articles - limit of 60 hours over 3 years for each
Courses devoted to practice/personal development and managerial skills — limit of 24 hours over 3 years

w

4. Other CPE

A & A: Accounting and Auditing - minimum of 24 hours over 3 years (codes 1-4) There are no carryovers
*Ethics: Mandatory minimum of not less than 6 hours over the 3 year reporting period. There are no carryovers.

If you have filed electronically using CPE tracking, you must also submit the first page of the application along with your original signature and fee

Please Note: All subject matter is conditional on limitations in Practice/Personal Development and Managerial Skills




Please enter the cumulative totals on the previous page or the application will be returned for completion

School, firm or organization
conducting program

Title of program and description of content

CPE
Code

Dates
Attended

Total
Hours

A&A
Hours

Ethics*




