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INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW / RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR 
DISTRIBUTOR, MANUFACTURER OR REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE 

 
NEW 
 

1. Application(s) must be completed in full, signed by a corporate officer, partner, sole-owner, member or authorized agent and 
notarized. 

 

2. Cover letter on a letter-head stating the company’s name and address who is requesting the license. 
 

3. Agreement letter with Rhode Island dealership and a franchise letter on official letterhead. 
 

4. Application for Distributor or Manufacturer Representative(s) (must have at least one) 
 

5. Check or Money Order made payable to: “Dealers’ License and Regulations Office.”                                                    
FEES: $301.50 – for each distributor or manufacturer license; $101.50 – for each representative 

              

6. You must contact the R.I. Secretary of State, 401-222-3040 or www.sos.ri.gov, to register your company or corporation to do 
business in the State of Rhode Island.  Please attach a copy of certificate along with the application. 

 

7. All licenses are issued on a calendar year basis and all expire on December 31st of each year.  All distributors, manufacturers 
and representatives need to be licensed to have the right to do business with Rhode Island dealers, pursuant to Rhode Island 
General Laws § 31-5-21 et seq. and § 31-5-1 et seq. 

 

8. FOR DISTRIBUTORS ONLY: A copy of a letter of authorization from the manufacturing company authorizing your company to 
distribute their product. 

 

NOTE:  All forms must be completed in full, signed and notarized where applicable.  Applicant must submit all required 
      documents with application.  Incomplete forms will not be accepted and will be returned. 

 
NOTE:  If there are any changes in your current license, you must notify the DMV, in writing, and provide a letter of intent. 
             You must also submit an agreement letter with every new dealership who will be selling your product in the State 

      of Rhode Island. 
 

 
RENEWAL 
 
Your license(s) to do business in the State of Rhode Island will expire on December 31st of this year.  Enclosed please find 
application(s) for renewal of your license(s).  October 31st is the deadline to submit your renewal application.  All Distributors, 
Manufacturers and Representatives that are not licensed by January 1st of the subsequent year following the expiration on December 
31st will be denied the right to do business with Rhode Island dealers.  Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-5-21 et seq. and   
§ 31-5-1 et seq.  All distributors and manufacturers must be licensed before Rhode Island dealers can obtain a dealer license and sell 
your line of product. 
 

All required documents must be submitted to ensure the issuance of your license: 
 

1. Distributor/Manufacturer Application 
 

2. Representative(s) Application 
 

3. Copy of your Franchise letter with authorized Rhode Island dealers 
 

4. A list of Rhode Island dealers authorized to sell your product 
 

5. A copy of your Manufacturer/Distributor Agreement form (authorization letter from manufacturer to sell their product) 
[Distributors only] 

 

6. Copy of Certificate of Good Standing from the Office of the Secretary of State. 
 

7. Check or Money Order made payable to: “Dealers’ License and Regulations Office.”                                                    
FEES: $301.50 – for each distributor or manufacturer license; $101.50 – for each representative 

 

8. Renewal application must be signed by a corporate officer, partner, owner or authorized agent and notarized. 
 

If additional forms are required, you may find the form on the DMV website: www.dmv.ri.gov  
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USE BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY

Date _________________License # ____________________

CORPORATE NAME:

NEW

   Application Type (check one):

NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR DISTRIBUTOR OR MANUFACTURER LICENSE

RENEWAL

rev. 05/12

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES - DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATION OFFICE
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024
Phone: 401-462-5732          Fax: 401-462-5789
www.dmv.ri.gov

Check # _______________

   Applicant Information
D/B/A NAME:

DATE INCORPORATED:IF INCORPORATED, UNDER WHAT STATE’S LAW?

IF INCORPORATED UNDER THE LAWS OF ANOTHER STATE, ARE YOU AUTHORIZED TO DO BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF RI?

YES NO IF YES, PLEASE LIST ANY STATE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: _____________________________________________

*** Please attach a copy of your Certificate of Authorization that was issued in Rhode Island ***
MAIN BUSINESS ADDRESS:

DMV Official Use Only – DO NOT COMPLETE THIS SECTION

CITY/TOWN: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NUMBER: FAX NUMBER: E-MAIL ADDRESS:

NAME OF DIVISION:

NAME

 Name, Title and Address of Each Officer, Partner, Member, Director or Corporate Officer

TITLE COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS

DEALER’S LICENSE #

 List All Your Franchised Rhode Island Dealers (Only for Franchise(s) Listed on this Application):

COMPLETE BUSINESS ADDRESS

MANUFACTURER

DISTRIBUTOR

MANUFACTURER

DISTRIBUTOR

(A separate application is needed for each division) WHAT MAKE OF MOTORIZED VEHICLES FOR THIS DIVISION?:
__________________________________________
__________________________________________

NEW

APPLICATION DATE:

MANUFACTURING COMPANY NAME AND ADDRESS WHO AUTHORIZES YOUR COMPANY TO SELL THEIR PRODUCTS: (DISTRIBUTOR ONLY)

NAME

I, THE UNDERSIGNED, HEREBY DECLARE THAT I AM _____________________________________
TITLE, IF ANY

ABOVE INFORMATION IS TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE OR BELIEF.

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS _______ DAY OF ____________________, 20 _______.

COMMISSION EXPIRES: __________________ NOTARY SIGNATURE: ___________________________

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT ___________________________________________

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND, COUNTY OF: ___________________________________________

OF THE ABOVE FIRM AND THE 

LICENSE #: __________________
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USE BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY

Date _________________License # ____________________

APPLICANT NAME:

NEW

   Application Type (check one):

NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE

rev. 05/12

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES - DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATION OFFICE
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024
Phone: 401-462-5732          Fax: 401-462-5789
www.dmv.ri.gov

Check # _______________

   Applicant Information
APPLICATION DATE: 

   Company Information

DMV Official Use Only – DO NOT COMPLETE THIS SECTION

TELEPHONE: E-MAIL ADDRESS:

PRIMARY SERVICES:

I, THE UNDERSIGNED, HEREBY DECLARE THAT I AM _____________________________________
TITLE, IF ANY

ABOVE INFORMATION IS TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE OR BELIEF.

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS _______ DAY OF ____________________, 20 _______.

COMMISSION EXPIRES: __________________ NOTARY SIGNATURE: ___________________________

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT ___________________________________________

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND, COUNTY OF: ___________________________________________

OF THE ABOVE FIRM AND THE 

TELEPHONE NUMBER: E-MAIL ADDRESS:

RENEWAL
MANUFACTURER

DISTRIBUTOR

MANUFACTURER

DISTRIBUTOR
LICENSE #: __________________NEW

ADDRESS: CITY/TOWN: STATE: ZIP CODE:

NAME OF COMPANY REPRESENTED: DIVISION: 

BUSINESS ADDRESS: CITY/TOWN: STATE: ZIP CODE:

FAX NUMBER:

YES NOSALES: YES NOPARTS: YES NOACCESSORIES:

NOTE:  Proof of affiliation with the above-named company must be attached to this application.
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DMV Logo


	(p.2) New_Renewal Application for Distributor or Manufacturer License  05-29-2012
	(p.3) New_Renewal Application for Representative License  05-29-2012

	NEW: Off
	RENEWAL: Off
	CORPORATE NAME: 
	DBA NAME: 
	IF INCORPORATED UNDER WHAT STATES LAW: 
	DATE INCORPORATED: 
	YES: Off
	NO: Off
	IF YES PLEASE LIST ANY STATE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: 
	MAIN BUSINESS ADDRESS: 
	WHAT MAKE OF MOTORIZED VEHICLES FOR THIS DIVISION: 
	1: 
	2: 
	MANUFACTURING COMPANY NAME AND ADDRESS WHO AUTHORIZES YOUR COMPANY TO SELL THEIR PRODUCTS DISTRIBUTOR ONLY: 
	NAMERow1: 
	TITLERow1: 
	COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSRow1: 
	NAMERow2: 
	TITLERow2: 
	COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSRow2: 
	NAMERow3: 
	TITLERow3: 
	COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSRow3: 
	NAMERow4: 
	TITLERow4: 
	COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSRow4: 
	NAMERow5: 
	TITLERow5: 
	COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSRow5: 
	NAMERow6: 
	TITLERow6: 
	COMPLETE RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSRow6: 
	NAMERow1_2: 
	DEALERS LICENSE Row1: 
	COMPLETE BUSINESS ADDRESSRow1: 
	NAMERow2_2: 
	DEALERS LICENSE Row2: 
	COMPLETE BUSINESS ADDRESSRow2: 
	NAMERow3_2: 
	DEALERS LICENSE Row3: 
	COMPLETE BUSINESS ADDRESSRow3: 
	NAMERow4_2: 
	DEALERS LICENSE Row4: 
	COMPLETE BUSINESS ADDRESSRow4: 
	new: Off
	MANUFACTURER: Off
	DISTRIBUTOR: Off
	renewal: Off
	MANUFACTURER_2: Off
	DISTRIBUTOR_2: Off
	LICENSE: 
	APPLICANT NAME: 
	APPLICATION DATE: 
	TELEPHONE NUMBER: 
	EMAIL ADDRESS: 
	ADDRESS: 
	CITYTOWN: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP CODE: 
	NAME OF COMPANY REPRESENTED: 
	DIVISION: 
	BUSINESS ADDRESS: 
	CITYTOWN_2: 
	STATE_2: 
	ZIP CODE_2: 
	TELEPHONE: 
	FAX NUMBER: 
	EMAIL ADDRESS_2: 
	y1: Off
	n1: Off
	y2: Off
	n2: Off
	y3: Off
	n3: Off


