STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
Department of Business Regulation
DIVISION OF COMMERCIAL LICENSING AND
RACING AND ATHLETICS
Real Estate Division
John O. Pastore Center
1511 Pontiac Avenue Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, R 02920-0942
Tele: (401) 462-9512 Fax: (401) 462-9645
TDD: 711 www.dbr.ri.gov

The following Requirements apply to Rhode Island Residents and Non-residents.

For Non-residents who reside in Connecticut or Massachusetts, and currently have a Real Estate

Salesperson License, see Non-resident / Reciprocal Requirements.

Candidates of legal age (18 years of age) for a Real Estate Salesperson license must first contact Pearson
VUE (the Testing Center) at (800) 274-8922, to schedule an examination, or by Faxing the Fax Reservation
Form (from Appendix) to (888) 204-6291; or visiting our website.

The examination must be taken before submitting an application to the Rhode Island.

Department of Business Regulation, D1v1510n of Commercial Licensing and Racing and
Athletics, Real Estate Division.

Upon successfully passing the examination, candidates must submit the following:

- The Original Test Score Report from Pearson VUE — Both pages;

A completed Real Estate Salesperson Application;

A Certificate of successful completion of 45 hours of pre-licensing education;

A Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office.
Note: Non-residents must submit a CHR from the Attorney Generals Office of their
home state, as well as one from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office.

A Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification;

A Certificate of a three (3)-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation;

A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance;

A Certificate of the three (3)-hour New Agency Law Course, unless it is included in cumculum of 45
hours of pre-licensing education;

Non-resident applicants must provide a Certificate of Licensure from their home-state Licensing

Authority.

Non-Resident applicants must provide an irrevocable Power of Attorney Form for Service of Process.




Please submit TWO CHECKS as follows:

e $75.00, payable to the “Rhode Island General Treasurer” - For licenses issued on or after May1, of
odd-numbered years, through April 30, of even-numbered years — (this includes the $10.00 Application
Fee and $65.00 License Fee); AND,

e §25.00 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account”.

OR;

e $140.00, payable to the “Rhode Island General Treasurer” - For licenses issued on or after Mayl, of
even-numbered years, through April 30, of odd-numbered years — (this includes the $10.00 Application
Fee and $130.00 License Fee); AND,

e $25.00 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account”,

Applications must be completely filled out with all required signatures and properly notarized where
required. All supporting documents and fees must be included when submitted.

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED TO THE APPLICANT,
DELAYING THE LICENSING PROCESS.

*All licenses expire on April 30 of even-numbered years. (There is no pro-rating of fees).
The Department of Business Regulation has a 24-hour continuing education requirement that is due
before license renewal.
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INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.

REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON APPLICATION

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT
1. Name of Applicant: 2. Date of Birth 3. Age 4. Legal resident
Yes [ No [

5. Residential Address: City / Town State Zip Code

6. Telephone Number: 7. Email Address: 8. Social Security Number:

9. Present Occupation:

10. Real Estate Agency Name & Address: Street / City / Town: State: Zip Code:

Telephone Number:
11. Principal Broker’s Name and Rhode Island License Number:
12. Have you ever been refused a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson License by this State, or any other state?
Yes 0 No O

13. Have you ever had a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson License Suspended or Revoked in this State, or any
other state? Yes 0 No [

14. Have you ever been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendre to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining
money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other offenses of
any type which would reasonably cause the Department to question your honesty, trustworthiness,
integrity, good reputation or competency? Yes 0 No O

IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS 12 - 14,
ATTACH A FULL EXPLANATION.
15. Occupations Engaged in During the Past Five Years:
16. Attach Official Certificates of all Educational Courses on Real Estate Successfully Completed as defined in

Rhode Island General Laws 5-20.5.19.




17. NOTE: Law requires recommendations of three (3) Rhode Island residents who have known the applicant for at least three (3)
years and are not related to the applicant. They will attest that the applicant bears a good reputation for honesty and trustworthiness
and will recommend that a Real Estate Salesperson’s License be granted to the applicant.

Address:
Name: (Print)

Address:
Name: (Print)

Address:
Name: (Print)

STATEMENT OF LICENSED REAL ESTATE PRINCIPAL BROKER

Being the Principal Broker of the Agency mentioned below, I certify that the applicant, has applied for
employment as a salesperson, and in my opinion, is competent and trustworthy, and is hereby recommended as
a suitable person to be granted a Real Estate Salesperson’s License.

Name of Agency: Principal Broker’s
SEAL OF Rhode Island Lic. #
NOTARY Address:
PUBLIC Principal Broker’s Name: (PRINT)
Principal Broker’s Signature:
Subscribed and Sworn at:
City and State
Before me:
Notary Public
Date: , 20
STATEMENT OF APPLICANT
I HEREBY AFFIRM THAT ALL ANSWERS ARE TRUE.
SEAL OF
NOTARY Signature of Applicant
PUBLIC
Subscribed and Sworn at: (City and State)
BEFORE ME:
Notary Public
DATE: , 20
For Office Use Only
LICENSE GRANTED: AFTER EXAMINATION: [0 DATE:
RECIPROCITY: ] DATE:
Rev. 8/15/11
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CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS

FOR BROKER AND SALESPERSON APPLICANTS

A Criminal History Record (“CHR”) must be submitted to the Real Estate Section,
Department of Business Regulation (“DBR”), Division of Commercial Licensing and
Racing and Athletics, with each Real Estate Application. Processing an application is
contingent upon the complete disposition, or results of any charges delineated or resolved
prior to application submission. See instructions below to learn how to obtain your CHR.

INSTRUCTIONS

Applying in Person: A Criminal History Record may be obtained by visiting the Bureau
of Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”).
To apply for a CHR in this manner, bring a picture-identification, showing your date of
birth.

Applying by Mail: To apply by mail, send a notarized copy of a photo ID, showing your
date of birth, and a signed/notarized letter, giving permission to the DAG to conduct a
background investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope.

The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, is five dollars ($5.00), and is
payable by check or money order to the “BCI”. Please allow time for the DAG to
process and generate your request. For further questions about this process, you may
contact the DAG at the phone number below.

If you reside in another state, supply 2 CHR from your home state, as well as one
from Rhode Island.

Contact Information for the Department of Attorney General:
» 150 South Main Street, Providence, Rhode Island.
» Telephone Number: (401) 274-4400
» Hours of operation are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Rev. 2/9/11




Tax Paver Status Affidavit / Identity Verification

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority
(hereinafter called “licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode

Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to

receiving a license as mandated by State law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below.

In order to verify that the State is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their
Social Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate. These
numbers will be transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the
issuance of a license. This declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license.

Please return this affidavit along with your license application to: Rhode Island Department

of Business Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920.

Licensee Declaration

0 Ihereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required State tax returns and have

paid all taxes owed.

O TIhave entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the

Tax Administrator.
0 Iam currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the State.

0 Iamin Federal Bankruptcy. (Case #:

0 Iamin State Receivership. (Case #:

0 Ihave been discharged from Bankruptey.  (Case #:

Type of Professional License for which you are applying:

Full Name: (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number: (or FEIN if appropriate)

Signature:

Phone Number (including area code):

Date:

i1




Individual

State of Rfiode Island and Providence Plantations

POWER OF ATTORNEY

Know Al Men by Qﬁeseld’resents,

County of ... iiiiiii sand the State of «....oooiiiiiii , having applied to be
licensed by the Real Estate Division of the Department of Business Regulation, of the State of Rhode Island and Providence
Plantations, to act as a real estate broker or salesperson in the State of Rhode Island, as provided by Chapter 83, Public Laws of Rhode
Island, 1959, as amended, do hereby make, constitute and appoint the Director of the Department of Business Regulation of the State
of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, his successor or successors in office, my true and lawful attorney in and for the State of
Rhode Island and Providence Planfations, upon whom all lawful process in any action of proceeding against me may be served in like
manner and with the same Jegal force and effect as if I had been lawfully served with said process therein as provided by the laws of
the State of Rhode Island; and the said Director of the Director of the Department of Business Regulation, as such attorney, is hereby
authorized and empowered as my said agent to receive and accept service of any process, writ, summons, petition or order whereby
any suit, action, or proceeding shall be commenced against me; and I hereby stipulate and agree that any lawful process against me,
which is served on said Director of the Director of the Department of Business Regulation, shall have the same force and effect as if

served on me within the Sate of Rhode Island.

The Authority given in this appointment shall continue in force as long as any liability to any resident of this State remains unsatisfied.

IN WITHNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and seal on this ........... day of ooeviiii 320000
Legal Signature
IN THE PRESENCE OF;
B B 1
2. WIDESS severeavivmeniiinnisnuninininirssieinsiesmnoensrsssane
Inthe State of: ..o iiiiiiiiiiiiir e
CoUNLY OFf i
City off woiii , in said County, ont this ........day of co.oiivvviviviiriinii e I
before me personally ap@eared ......................................................... and acknowledged the foregoing instrument, by

him/her, sealed and subscribed, to be his/her free act and deed.

"BEFORE ME ..o, e

{(NOTORIAL SEAL}




