
 
Division of Commercial Licensing and  

Racing and Athletics 

 
 

 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 

You can now apply on line at:  https://elicensing.ri.gov/ 
Or submit the attached application along with: 
 

  Licensing/Permit Fee 
  Tax Affidavit –RI Residents Only 
  Copy of valid license from the state you received your uniform registry number and Tag Sample 
 
Manufacturer/Supply Dealer 

o Sample of law tag Per R.I. Gen. Law §23-26-20 and copy of license from state issuing URN 
o Must also apply for a Sterilizer Permit if materials used require sterilization 

 
Sterilization Permit – per R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 23-26-7 & 23-26-7.1 - please supply: 

o Supply sample of sterilization tag and copy of license from original state of issue on tag 
o Name of Sterilization Method Used and Copy of the Sterilizing Product information 

 Product must be registered as a consumer and health benefit product and labeled for use 
     on bedding and upholstered furniture by the EPA   

 

Second Hand Bedding & Upholstered Furniture   
o Must also apply for a Sterilizer Permit and copy of any other license required by law   
o Supply sample of Second Hand law tag – per R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-26-17 and 23-26-20 

 
Renovator/Repair – For direct repair for consumer or direct sale from licensee- if materials require 
sterilization you must also apply for a sterilization permit, if selling item for retail see manufacturer 
requirements 

o Supply sample of Renovator/Repairer law tag – per §23-26-14 
===============================================================================              
                  Type of License                TRIENNIAL LICENSE FEE  (beginning at issuance date)   
 

MANUFACTURER / SUPPLY DEALER           $630.00     
RENOVATOR / REPAIRER / SECOND HAND         $180.00      
=============================================================================== 

Sterilizer Permit has a one (1) year licensing period – starting with the issuance date of your license. 
                   

         STERILIZER PERMIT   Original Permit Fee      $  84.00 
=============================================================================== 
Check or money order should be made payable to the State of Rhode Island General Treasurer, in U.S. Dollars 
and drawn on an U.S. Bank.  No foreign checks or currency accepted.    NO CASH! 
 
Statutory Licensing Law Title 23 Chapter 23-26 governing bedding and upholstered furniture, and all forms 
may be found on the Department website at:  http://www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/commlicensing/upholster.php 
 
Should you have any questions, please contact Kim Precious, Implementation Aide, at (401) 462-9650 or by 
email at:  kimberly.precious@dbr.ri.gov 
                                                                              
Tel: 401-462-9506 Fax: 401-462-9645 TTY: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov           revised  12/13 
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Division of Commercial Licensing and     
Racing and Athletics 

 
 

 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 

 

APPLICATION FOR A BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERED FURNITURE OR STERILIZATION PERMIT 
  

                                                                                                                                                                            S.S.N or 
NAME OF PLANT:  ___________________________________________________________________   F.E.I.N _____________ 
 
PLANT ADDRESS: ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

                                         _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

MAILING ADDRESS  
IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE:   _______________________________________________________________________ 
  

                                      _______________________________________________________________________ 
 

BUSINESS TEL No.:   _________________________________         EMAIL ADDRESS: _______________________________________   
                                                                                                                                          

CONTACT NAME: ___________________________________________         BUSINESS FAX No.: _____________________________________        
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

TYPE OF BUSINESS:       � Sole Proprietor         � Partnership         � Corporation          � LLC         � Other (Type)____________ 
======================================================================================================================= 
IF REGISTRATION SERVICE or IMPORTER IS APPLYING ON BEHALF OF MANUFACTURER: 
 

NAME OF SERVICE/IMPORTER: ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                              STREET                                                                      CITY                                                                        STATE                                ZIP 
 

CONTACT NAME:  ___________________________________       EMAIL ADDRESS: _________________________________________ 
 

Tel. No.:________________________    Fax No.: _____________________ 
 

WILL ALL CORRESPONDENCE BE SENT TO SERVICE/IMPORTER?           YES _______      NO _______ 
 

(IF NO, ALL CORRESPONDENCE WILL BE SENT TO BUSINESS ADDRESS OF LICENSEE) 
 =======================================================================================================================  
 

REGISTRY NUMBER ON LAW TAG:    _____________________________       (attach law tag and valid license) 
 

�   I DON’T HAVE A REGISTRY NUMBER AND REQUEST ONE FROM RHODE ISLAND      (attach sample of law tag) 
======================================================================================================================= 
LICENSE TYPE APPLYING FOR:              TRIENNIAL LICENSE   (Expires three years from issuance date)     FEE 
 

   Manufacturer of Bedding/Upholstered Furniture … … … �   Supply Dealer-Filling Materials only   ………     $630.00 �
 ==============================================================================================================================================================================================              
�   Renovator/Repairer of Bedding/Upholstered Furniture …. �   Second Hand Bedding/Upholstered Furniture....  $180.00 
============================================================================================================================================================================================= 

� Sterilizer Permit --EXPIRES ONE YEAR FROM DATE ISSUED-- ……..……………………………………...  $ 84.00 
======================================================================================================================= 
 
PRINCIPAL MATERIALS USED:   _____________________________________       TYPE OF PRODUCT:  __________________________ 

 
IF MATERIALS USED REQUIRE STERILIZATION YOU MUST APPLY FOR A STERILIZATION PERMIT   

 

Name of Method/Product used for Sterilization: ________________________________________________  
 (ATTACH COPY OF PRODUCT INFORMATION) 
 
=============================================================================================================================================================== 

I HEREBY CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE INFORMATION ON THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE AND ACCURATE. 
                                

            X______________________________________________                ________________ 
                                                                          SIGNED                                                                                    DATED  
 

Tel: 401-462-9506 Fax: 401-462-9645 TTY: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov           revised  12/13 



Division of Commercial Licensing and  
Racing and Athletics 

 
 

 
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 

 
 

Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 
 (Rhode Island Residents Only) 

  
All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called 
“licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax 
returns and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) 
except as noted below. 
 
In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social Security Number 
and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These numbers will be transmitted to the Division of 
Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.  This declaration must be made prior to the issuance 
of a license. 
 
Please return this affidavit along with your license application to: Rhode Island Department of Business 
Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. 

 
Licensee Declaration 

 
 I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed. 

 I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. 

 I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state. 

 I am in federal bankruptcy.   (Case #_____________________________) 

 I am in state receivership.     (Case #_____________________________) 

 I have been discharged from Bankruptcy.  (Case #__________________) 

________________________________________________________________________ 
Type of Professional License for which you are applying 
 
___________________________________ _____________________________________ 
Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate) 
 
___________________________________ ______________________________________ 
Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401) 
 
Date_______________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Tel: 401-462-9506 Fax: 401-462-9645 TTY: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov           revised  12/13 
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