
Form No. 500
Revised:  2016

Instructions for Filing
Registration of Limited Liability Partnership
Section 7-12-56 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision.  This form and 
the information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Department of State - Business Services Division

How to complete the form:
1.	 State the name of the limited liability partnership. It 

must be distinguishable from any name on file with 
this office. The name must include “limited liability 
partnership”, “l.l.p.” or “llp”. You may check name 
availability on our website; however, this does not 
ensure the name will still be available upon filing.

2. 	 List the principal office address of the partnership.
3.	 If the partnership’s principal office is not located in 

this state, list the name of the registered agent of 
the partnership. The registered agent is an individual 
or entity that will accept all legal service for this 
entity. The agent must be a Rhode Island resident or 
entity qualified to do business in this state. A Rhode 
Island street address is required, NOT a P.O. Box. In 
addition to all legal service of process, other important 
correspondence from the State will be sent to this 
address.

4.	 List the names and addresses of all the resident 
partners.

5.	 List the address where the records of the partnership 
will be maintained in Rhode Island.

6. 	 Give a brief statement of the business the partnership 
is engaged in. 

7.	 One (1) or more Partners authorized to execute this 
application MUST sign and date the form.

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The registration shall be effective for one (1) year 

after the date of filing unless voluntarily withdrawn. 
A renewal application must be filed during the sixty 
(60) day period preceding the expiration date of the 
application. If a renewal aplication is not filed during 
the sixty (60) day period, then the status of the limited 
liability partnership will expire. The registered limited 
liability partnership shall be responsible for filing a 
renewal application, since the Department of State is 
not obligated to send notice of expiration. The filing fee 
is $100 for each partner not to exeed $2500, payable 
either in person via cash, credit card, or check at the 
Business Services Division, or by mail to the Business 
Services Division via check made payable to the R.I. 
Department of State. Contact our office for further 
information. 

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and 

click “Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “Files” to view and print the record
•	 Filing rejections can be viewed via the Rejected 

Filings Viewer on our website.                           

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to maintain your status:
	
	 Every entity registered with the Rhode Island 

Department of State - Business Services Division may 
have filing requirements with the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation, even if no business is conducted within 
Rhode Island for a particular year. Your business may 
require additional licensing, please visit our website for 
further information.

Evidence necessary for businesses      
providing professional services:
	
	 The following professionals require evidence of a 

current application with the appropriate licensing 
agency prior to filing with the Department of State.
•	 	Engineering (401) 462-9592 www.bdp.ri.gov 
•	 	Land Surveying (401) 462-9595 www.bdp.ri.gov 
•	 	Architecture (401) 462-9594 www.bdp.ri.gov 
•	 	Landscape Architecture (401) 462-9595 www.bdp.

ri.gov

If the entity is engaged in the practice of law, the 
applicant must apply for a limited liability entity license 
from the Rhode Island Supreme Court within thirty (30) 
days of filing with the Department of State. You may 
contact the Rhode Island Supreme Court Clerk’s Office 
at (401) 222-3272 or www.courts.ri.gov.

	

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-12/7-12-56.HTM
http://sos.ri.gov/divisions/Business-Portal/Start-Or-Qualify-A-Business/Name-Availability
http://sos.ri.gov/divisions/Business-Portal/Start-Or-Qualify-A-Business/Name-Availability
http://ucc.state.ri.us/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://ucc.state.ri.us/CorpSearch/CorpSearchInput.asp
http://ucc.state.ri.us/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://ucc.state.ri.us/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://sos.ri.gov/assets/downloads/documents/business-services/start-up-business/LOGS_applic_insert_01-11-16.pdf
http://sos.ri.gov/assets/downloads/documents/business-services/start-up-business/LOGS_applic_insert_01-11-16.pdf
http://sos.ri.gov/divisions/Business-Portal/Start-Or-Qualify-A-Business
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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STAMP 
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

Registration of Limited Liability Partnership
Limited Liability Partnership

Filing Fee:  $100.00 for EACH Partner
(not to exceed $2500.00)

The undersigned, desiring to form, a new limited liability partnership under and by virtue of the powers conferred by RIGL 
7-12-56, do execute the following Registration of Limited Liability Partnership:
1. The name of the limited liability partnership shall be:

2. The address of the principal office is:
Street Address 

City/Town State Zip Code

3. If the partnership’s principal office is not located in Rhode Island, the name and address of the initial registered agent/
office in Rhode Island is:
Agent Name

Street Address (NOT a P.O. Box)

City/Town State Zip Code

4. The name and address of all resident partners is:
NAME ADDRESS

STAMP 
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

RHODE ISLAND

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Department of State - Business Services Division
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 | Email: corporations@sos.ri.gov | Website: www.sos.ri.gov

Check the box to indicate an attachment.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-12/7-12-56.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-12/7-12-56.HTM
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5. List the place where the business records of the partnership are maintained; or, if more than one location for business
records is maintained, list the principal place of business of the partnership:
Street Address 

City/Town State Zip Code

6. A brief statement of the business in which the partnership is engaged:

7. This application has been executed by a majority in interest of the partners or by one (1) or more partners authorized
to execute an application.
Under penalty of perjury, I/we declare and affirm that I/we have examined this Certificate of Limited Liability Partnership,           
including any accompanying attachments, and that all statements contained herein are true and correct.
Signature of Resident Partner Type or Print Name of Partner          Date

Signature of Resident Partner Type or Print Name of Partner Date

Signature of Resident Partner Type or Print Name of Partner Date

If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, between 8:30 a.m. and       
4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

SIGN DOCUMENT HERE

SIGN DOCUMENT HERE

SIGN DOCUMENT HERE
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If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, between 8:30 a.m. and       
4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

Filer Contact Information

Name: Phone Number:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address:

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this           
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Department of State - Business Services Division
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 | Email: corporations@sos.ri.gov | Website: www.sos.ri.gov
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