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GENERAL INFORMATION
Enclosures
The following materials and information should be enclosed within this application packet:

Application Process Overview........................................................................................................... 3

Instructions for Completing Application..............................................................................................4

Application Materials

Application.............................................................................................................................. 5-8
Application Checklist.............................................................................................................. 9
Interstate Verification Form - Other State License(s).............................................................10
RI Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration Form (CSR).........................................11

Licensure Requirements
Applicants

1. Fee of $110.00 (or $310.00 with CSR) NOTE:  These application fees are NON-REFUNDABLE.

2. Recent passport type photograph.

3. License Verification(s) from the state(s) in which applicant holds or has held a license.

4. Official transcript from an accredited School of Physician Assistants.*

5. Score/Certification sent directly from the National Commission on Certification of Physician
Assistants (NCCPA).*

6.   National Practitioner Data Bank Self-Query

*FCVS

IMPORTANT:   If applicant provides verification of credentials by the Federation Credentials Verification
Service (FCVS) of the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB), requirements 4 and 5 above shall be
met and said documentation need not be submitted.  An application for verification of credentials by FCVS may
be obtained by contacting the Federation of State Medical Boards, toll free at 1-888-ASKFCVS (1-888-275-
3287), or it can be downloaded at the Federation’s web site at:

http://www.fsmb.org/fcvs_physicianassistant.html

NOTE:  ALL physician assistant applicants must have a supervising physician who oversees the activities of,
and accepts the responsibility for, the medical services rendered by the physician assistant

Rules and Regulations

To obtain the Rules and Regulations for your profession visit the A-Z list on the Topics & Programs page at the
following web site.  From the list click on the letter for your profession.

http://www.health.ri.gov/atoz/

http://www.fsmb.org/fcvs_physicianassistant.html


APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW
The licensure process in the State of Rhode Island is conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health
(HEALTH), Office of Medical Licensure & Discipline, and the Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assis-
tants (Board).

Application Process

In addition to the application, you must submit additional information directly to the Board.  All items listed on the
“checklist” (page 9) must be submitted for an application to be considered complete.  All applications are consid-
ered valid for 1 year  from the day they are received at HEALTH.  If you do not complete the application process and
obtain a license within 1 year a new application must be submitted.

Please allow a minimum of 4-6 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed.  If you have malpractice
criminal or disciplinary history, in Rhode Island or another state, it can take an additional 2 or 3 months for all
pertinent documentation to be received, and a decision to be made regarding issuance of your license.

Licenses will be issued within 7-10 working days following approval of the license.  A letter will be mailed within 3
weeks from the date of license approval to the address furnished in the application. You are responsible for
notifying the Board office, in writing, if your address changes in the interim.  Visit the following website to obtain a
change of address form.

http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/changeofaddress/professions.pdf

To obtain your license number prior to receiving your letter, please refer to the HEALTH Licensee Lookup
web site:

https://healthri.mylicense.com/Verification/

HEALTH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the expense of others.  Once
completed, the application will be reviewed, and you will be contacted in writing.

Please continue to review the remaining portions of this application packet for instructions and other materials
necessary to complete the application.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for submission of ALL licensure requirements.  HEALTH does
NOT notify applicants of missing or incomplete documentation.

If you have any questions about this application process, or would like to check on the status of your application,
please contact the board staff at (401) 222-3855.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE LICENSE APPLICATION

Read the following instructions and those throughout the application packet carefully before completing the
application.  Only complete applications with the appropriate fee will be accepted. Failure to submit all
required information and appropriate documentation may result in processing delays.

General Instructions

1. Make a copy of the application and forms before you begin in case you make a mistake.

2. Type your information or print in blue or black ball-point pen.  HEALTH staff will not make assumptions about
illegible information.

3. Provide a response to each section or question; otherwise mark “N/A” for Not Applicable.
4. We suggest that you make a copy of your completed application before submitting it to HEALTH.
5. It is your responsibility to check on the status of your application.

http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/phys_assist.php
http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/license.php
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Completing your Application

  1. Complete the application (pages 5-8).  You must respond to all components of the application as instructed.  If you
attach separate pages in continuation of the application, such pages MUST clearly indicate the section for which such
information is being reported.

  2. Make check or money order (in U.S. funds only) for the application fee of  $110.00 (or $310.00 with CSR) payable to
Rhode Island General Treasurer and staple it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application.
This application fee CANNOT BE REFUNDED, even if the applicant is found ineligible for licensure.

  3. Affix a recent 2 X 2 photo of yourself in the space provided.

  4. A completed official transcript sent directly from the accredited school of Physician Assistants to the Board of
Licensure of Physician Assistants (Address below)- OR FCVS.  No student copies will be accepted.

  5. If you are a new graduate and applying for Graduate Status and your transcript is not yet available, a certified statement
may be sent directly FROM the Dean or Registrar of the Physician Assistant Program verifying your completion of
ALL GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS,   A completed official transcript must be sent directly FROM the school to the
Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants as soon as it is available.  A license cannot be issued without receipt of an
official transcript.

  6. Scores, or certification, sent directly from the NCCPA  (Telephone 1-678-417-8100) to the Board of Licensure of
Physician Assistants, OR FCVS.

  7. RI Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration Form (CSR) if applicable (page 11.).

  8. (Endorsement Candidates):  Please send the license verification form on page 10 to all states in which applicant
holds or has held a license.  Be sure to sign and complete the identifying information on the form.  HEALTH must
receive these verifications directly from the licensing authority in each state.

  9. National Practitioner Data Bank Report. Submit a “self-query” of the National Practitioner Data Bank  (NPDB). The
      application is a Practitioner Request for Information Disclosure, which can be obtained by calling the NPBD, or
      downloading it from the NPDB web site.

Phone: 1-800-767-6732
Web Site: http://www.npdb-hipdb.com

      You must mail this completed form directly to NPBD. When you receive a response, send the Board the
      ORIGINAL, UNOPENED response. The Board must have this response in order to complete your application
      so you are encouraged to make this request as soon as possible.

10.  Mail the application and documentation to:

 Rhode Island Department of Health
Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants, Room 205

 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097



State of Rhode Island
Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants

Application for License as a Physician Assistant

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms.  Type or block print only.  Do not use felt-tip pens.
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1. Name(s)

Maiden, if applicable

Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., II, III)

Name(s) under which originally licensed in another state, if different from  above (First, Middle, Last).

2. Social Security
Number

3. Gender

4. Date of Birth

FemaleMale

U.S. Social Security Number

Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.)

Surname, (Last Name)

 Middle Name

First Name

Month Day Year

5. Home
    Address 1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City

Country, If NOT U.S.

This is the name that
will be printed on your
License/Permit/
Certificate and
reported to those who
inquire about your
License/ Permit/
Certificate. Do not use
nicknames, etc.

1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Name of Business/Work Location

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City

Country, If NOT U.S.

     1   9

It is your responsibility
to notify the board of all
address changes.

State Zip Code

Postal Code, If NOT U.S.

Business FaxExtensionBusiness Phone

Home Phone Home Fax

Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com)

Postal Code, If NOT U.S.

State Zip Code

6. Business
    Address
    (ONLY if it is
    RELATED to
    your license.)

It is your responsibility
to notify the board of all
address changes.

This address will
appear on the
Department of
Health web site.

 “Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General  Laws,
as amended, I attest that I have filed all applicable tax returns and
paid all taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and I understand
that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the
Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State.”
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 7. Preferred
 Mailing
 Address
 Please check ONE

Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address

Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address

 8. Qualifying
     Education

Please list the name
and information about
the school that you
attended that
qualifies you for this
license.

Applicant:  Print your complete last name >

Name of  School

Type of School (University, College, Technical School, etc.)

   Date Graduated:
Month

  9. Other State
      License(s)

Please answer the
question and list
state(s), if applicable

Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state?

If the answer to this question is “yes”,  enter all other state licenses in Question 10 (below):

 Yes          No

10. Licensure
List all states or
countries in which
you are now, or
ever have been
licensed to practice
your profession.

State/Country: State/Country:

Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active InactiveActive

Active

Inactive Active InactiveActive

Inactive Active InactiveActive

Year

Degree Received (Bachelor of Arts, Master of Science, Diploma, etc. )

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED FOR ENDORSEMENT APPLICANTS:

YOU must send an “Interstate Verification Form” to each state in which you are, or
ever have been, licensed (Make copies as needed) (See page 10).
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Respond to the
question at the top
of the section, then
list any criminal
conviction(s) in the
space provided.

If necessary, you
may continue on a
separate 8½ x 11
sheet of paper.

 11. Criminal
 Convictions

Month Year

Abbreviation of State and Conviction1  (e.g. CA - Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):

 Yes               No

Applicant:  Print your complete last name >

Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered
a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or
are any formal charges pending?

Note:   If you answer “Yes” to any question, you are required to furnish complete details, including date, place, reason
and disposition of the matter.  You may use the space below or, if needed,  on a  separate sheet of paper.

12. Disciplinary
     Questions

1. During any Professional/Medical Education, were you ever dismissed, suspended,
restricted, put on probation, or otherwise acted against or did you take a leave of
absence for medical reasons?

2. During any Professional/Medical Education, were you ever requested to leave or did
you leave, temporarily or permanently, prior to completion of training?

3. During any training, were you ever dismissed, suspended, restricted, put on proba-
tion, or otherwise acted against or did you take a leave of absence for medical
reasons?

4. During any training, were you ever requested to leave or did you leave, temporarily or
permanently, prior to completion of training?

5. Are there any charges or investigations pending, in any state, against you?

6. Have your staff privileges at any hospital, nursing home, or other health care facility
or health care provider or HMO ever been reduced, revoked, or suspended or have
you voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges from any such unit or facility while
under investigation in any state?

7. Have you ever had any disciplinary action(s) taken, or is any pending, against your
License to practice medicine, DEA Permit, State Controlled Substances Registration,
Medicare Privileges, Medicaid Privileges, or are any complaints pending in any
state?

8. Have you ever had a membership in a professional society revoked, suspended, or
limited in any manner or have you voluntarily withdrawn while under investigation?

9. Have you ever failed to pass an examination for licensure?

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

 Yes               No

Check either Yes or
No for each question.

NOTE:  If you answer
“Yes” to any
question, you are
required to furnish
complete details,
including date, place,
reason and
disposition of the
matter.
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I, ____________________________________, being first duly sworn, depose and say that I am the
person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.

I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without
reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by
me herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that
such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice as a Physician
Assistant in the State of Rhode Island.

I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode
Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants of any change in the answers to these questions after
this application and this affidavit is signed.

_____________________________________ _________________________________
Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

_________________________________ _________________________________
Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary

________________________ __________________________
Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date  (MM/DD/YY)

13. Affidavit of
Applicant
Complete this section
and sign in the
presence of a notary
public.

Make sure that  you
and the notary public
have completed all
components
accurately and
completely.

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this _____________ day of

___________________, 20_______,  by ___________________________________,

 who is personally known to me or has produced  ____________________________

as documentation and did / did not take an oath.

14. Recent
Photograph
Securely tape or
glue in this square a
current 2" x 2"
photograph of
yourself (alone).

Photographs must be
recent, passport type
photo, clear, front
view, full face
without a hat or dark
glasses.

Full length photos will
not be accepted.

Affix Photo Here

Applicant: Print your complete last name >

Write your name on the back of the photograph, and provide the date that the photograph was taken.

Notary Seal

Date of Photograph



Please review the following checklist to ensure that all the components of the application process have been satisfied.  Some
items may not apply.

Board Application

I have read and understand the “Instructions for Completing the Application”.

I have completed the Rhode Island Board application as instructed (pages 5-8).

I have attached the cover page of the application.

I have completed Section 13, “Affidavit of Applicant”, and had the form notarized by a notary public.

I have attached a photograph to Section 14, “Recent Photograph” as instructed.  I have verified that it meets  the
photograph requirements as stated in the application.

I have a check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the:
“Rhode Island General Treasurer” in the amount of $110.00 (or $310.00 with CSR) and attached it to the upper
 left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application.

I have arranged my Board Application materials in the following order.

1. Fee (attached as instructed).

2. Board Application (including cover page) and pages 5-8.

3. Supporting documentation as required.  [Note: Pages containing additional information in continuation of the
Board application MUST indicate the section for which the information is being reported.]

 

I have mailed the above application materials directly to the Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician
Assistants.

Required Forms

I have completed and mailed the following forms as instructed.

1. Interstate Verification Form(s) - Other State License(s), OR I have contacted FCVS

                         2.     National Practitioner Data Bank Report (NPDB)

Other Documents

I have requested a school transcript and my certification or score (NCCPA) as instructed, OR I have contacted
        FCVS.

RI Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration Form (if applicable) CSR Form (page 11.).

I have applied to have my credentials verified by the Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS).

APPLICATION CHECKLIST
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Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants
Room 205, 3 Capitol Hill

Providence, RI 02908-5097
(401) 222-3855

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S)
I am applying for a license to practice as a Physician Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants
requires that the following form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which I hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all
information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name

Previous Names Used

Please Affix
Board Seal Here

License Number Date Issued

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT BOARD

Substitute forms are not acceptable, copy this form as needed.

Certification:

______________________________________________ ___________________
Signature   Date

__________________________________________________________________________
Type or Print Name

__________________________________________________________________________
Title

__________________________________________________________________________
Full Name of Licensing Board

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants - Page 10

Signature Date

Social Security Number           Date of Birth

Physician Assistant Program Completed: Location: Graduation Date:

Licensed by Examination? Applicant has completed and passed the NCCPA Exam:
     Yes       No      Yes       No

Active  Inactive  Lapsed
Original Date Issued: Expiration Date:License Status:

If you answer “Yes” to questions 1-4, please provide a written explanation below, and attach a copy of all supporting documentation (e.g.,
Board order, complaint, etc.).

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Questions:

1. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board? Yes No

2. Has this licensee  incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? Yes No

3. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed Yes No

    on probation?

4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? Yes No



Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants
Room 205, 3 Capitol Hill

Providence, RI 02908-5097
(401) 222-3855

Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration (CSR)

Substitute forms are not acceptable - This form may be duplicated as needed.
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I am applying for a Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration (CSR).  I understand that there is an additional $200.00 fee for this
Registration Application (NON-REFUNDABLE) and that the check or money order must be made out to the RI General Treasurer.
NOTE: To be issued a RI Controlled Substance Registration you must have a Rhode Island Business Address.

Print/Type Full Name

Signature

Business Name Current RI PA LicenseNo.

Business Address Business Telephone

Complete this
application for
registration to
prescribe controlled
substances in the
State of Rhode Island

Drug Schedule (Check all that apply)

A CSR is not required
if there will be no
controlled substances
prescriptions
prescribed in this
state.

A Copy of the DEA Registration must be provided to the Physician Assistant Board within 60 Days of its
issuance by the DEA.  The DEA Registration must be issued to your Rhode Island Practice Address in order
for it to be valid.  If you are relocating from another state, you need to apply for a DEA Registration that is
specific to Rhode Island.  See The bottom of this form for information on how to contact DEA.*

The CSR is renewed
at the same time as
the professional
license is renewed.

NOTE:
Read Important
Information on the
bottom of this
application.

All Applicants MUST answer the following:

A.  Has the applicant been convicted of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a violation of
any state or federal law relating to manufacturing, distributing, possessing, prescribing,
administering or dispensing of drugs presently defined as controlled substances under
Chapter 21-28, General Laws of Rhode Island?

B.  Has the registration application or registration of the applicant, corporation, firm, partner,
or officer of the applicant been surrendered, revoked, suspended or denied under any law
of the United States or of any state relating to drugs presently defined as controlled sub-
stances under Chapter 21-28 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, or is such action
pending?

                 If you answered “Yes” to question “A” or “B” attach an explanation to this form.

Business Fax
Date

Issuance of a Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration is contingent upon registration by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.  If denied a “DEA Registra-
tion”, the Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration becomes “VOID”.  Licensed drug facilities and licensed practitioners with prescriptive privileges, cannot
dispense, possess, store or ship controlled substances in or into the State of Rhode Island without a valid drug facility or professional license.  Rhode Island Controlled
Substances Registration (CSR), and a federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration.  Practitioners may only prescribe, dispense, possess, and store
controlled substances within their particular “scope of practice”.  “Controlled Substances” for purposes of this application, means a prescription drug in Schedules II
through V, pursuant to the Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act, and 21 CFR 1300 of the Federal Code of Regulations.  Schedule I drugs are used by
researchers, and require the submission of a protocol.

Without a Rhode Island CSR, and federal DEA Registration, licensed drug facilities, and practitioners with prescriptive privileges, may dispense or possess non-controlled
prescription medications under its facility or professional license.  A CSR will not be granted to an applicant whose BOARD licensure application is “pending” in this state.

A Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration must be obtained prior to applying for the DEA Registration.  Federal regulations require that applicants comply with
individual state requirements prior to issuance of a DEA Registration.  Once the CSR is issued, applicants must apply to the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration for a
federal registration using that agency’s DEA Form 224 (New Application for Retail Pharmacy, Hospital/Clinic, Practitioner, Teaching Institution, or Mid-Level Practitioner).
Applicants may apply on-line for the DEA Registration at the following web site: www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov./drugreg/reg_apps/index.html

*You can also receive an application, or check the status of a pending DEA Registration by contacting the Drug Enforcement Administration at the following location:
Registration Unit, US Drug Enforcement Administration, JFK Federal Building, 15 New Sudbury Street, Boston, MA 02203-0131, Telephone (888) 272-5174.

NOTE:
- Schedules II, III, and IV of section 21-28-2.08 will become void unless dispensed within thirty (30) days of the original date of the prescription.
- Prescriptions in schedules III, IV and V cannot be written for more that one hundred (100) dosage units and not more than one hundred (100) dosage units maybe
dispensed at one time.  For purposes of this section, a dosage unit shall be defined as a single capsule, tablet or suppository, or not more than one (1) teaspoon of an
oral liquid.
- Prescriptions in schedule II may be written for up to a 30-day supply, with a maximum of two hundred and fifty (250) dosage units, as determined by the prescriber’s
directions for use of the medication.

Important Information

Yes No

Yes No

Schedule II Schedule III Schedule IV ScheduleV

The Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act can be accessed at the following web Site:
www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/Title21/21-28/index.htm

http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov./drugreg/reg_apps/index.html
www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/Title21/21-28/index.htm
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