Latest Step in Governor's Ongoing Efforts to Make DMV More Convenient
Providence, RI - Rhode Island motorists now have a quick and more convenient way to renew their driver's licenses. Governor Lincoln D. Chafee today announced that online driver's license renewals are now available on the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website at www.dmv.ri.gov.
"The DMV continues to make important strides to improve customer service," said Governor Chafee. "Eligible Rhode Islanders may now avoid a trip to the DMV by renewing their driver's license online – eliminating the need to stand in line and further reducing wait times for other motor vehicle transactions."
To use the online renewal service, customers must have a valid Rhode Island operator license eligible for renewal up to 45 days before its expiration date and no more than 180 days past due. A credit card and billing address are needed to complete the transaction. Users will pay an enhanced access fee of $2.00 for the convenience of renewing online.
The welcome page describes the eligibility criteria and DMV will confirm user license number, name, date of birth and zip code. From this information, DMV will check for any issue that will prevent customers from renewing online such as problems with their social security number, license suspensions or tax blocks. Users will attest to having met the requirements of an eye exam and having motor vehicle insurance as required by state law. Users will also be asked if they want to register to vote or become an organ donor.
Upon completion of the online application, users will be able to print a receipt or have it emailed to them. New licenses will be sent to the mailing address on file within 28 business days. Completion of the renewal well in advance of the expiration date is highly recommended.
Due to federal regulations, Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL) cannot be renewed online and must be renewed in person at the Cranston DMV. For more information, please visit www.dmv.ri.gov.