PROVIDENCE - The Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management's Divisions of Law Enforcement and Fish & Wildlife will be at this weekend's New England Saltwater Fishing Show (Booth 114 and 115), offering saltwater fishing licenses and information on boating safety and education courses.
Saltwater anglers and spearfishers must hold a Rhode Island Recreational Saltwater Fishing License in order to fish recreationally in Rhode Island. A National Saltwater Angler Registration or a recreational saltwater fishing license from a reciprocal state is also accepted. Rhode Island honors recreational saltwater fishing licenses from New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Maine. The cost of a Rhode Island annual recreational saltwater fishing license is $7 for residents and $10 for non-residents. Licenses are not required for some groups. Visit www.saltwater.ri.gov for more information.
Boater education courses are mandatory for all boaters born after January 1, 1986 who operate a boat with a motor greater than 10 horsepower – as well as for all operators, regardless of age, of personal watercraft. Nationally, an increased interest in paddle craft has coincided with an increase in fatalities. DEM environmental police officers partner with the US Coast Guard Auxiliary to help spread awareness of the life-saving benefits of wearing life jackets.
For more information about this weekend's show or for a discount admission coupon, visit www.nesaltwatershow.com. For more information on DEM programs and initiatives, visit www.dem.ri.gov. Follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/RhodeIslandDEM or on Twitter (@RhodeIslandDEM) for timely updates.