PROVIDENCE – The Department of Environmental Management's Division of Fish and Wildlife will be stocking trout in Stafford Pond, Tiverton on Tuesday, November 28. A cyanobacteria or blue-green algae infestation prevented the department from stocking trout earlier this fall. Now however, the advisory has been lifted and the Fish & Wildlife staff are pleased to stock this pond for anglers to enjoy the last week of November.
Fall is traditionally an excellent time of the year to enjoy trout fishing in Rhode Island. "There's nothing better than heading to a favorite fishing spot on a crisp fall day to experience the delight of catching some of the beautiful trout raised in DEM's hatcheries," said DEM Director Janet Coit.
For updates on fall stocking locations and those stocked for Veterans Day, follow DEM's outdoor education page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/rioutdooreducation, or call 401-789-0281. Anglers can still expect the usual winter trout stocking. Dates and locations will be forth coming.
A 2017 fishing license is required for anglers 15 years of age and older. A Trout Conservation Stamp is also required of anyone wishing to keep or possess a trout or to fish in a catch-and-release or 'fly-fishing only' area. Trout Stamps are not required for persons possessing trout taken from a lake or pond that shares a border with Rhode Island. Fishing licenses and the Trout Conservation Stamp can be obtained at any city or town clerk's office, authorized agents such as bait and tackle shops, department stores such as Walmart and Dick's Sporting Goods, and at DEM 's Office of Boat Registration and Licensing in Providence. Visit the DEM website for a current list of licensed vendors. Anglers are encouraged to check the list prior to visiting a vendor to purchase a license. For more information or to purchase a license, visit www.dem.ri.gov.
License fees are $18 for Rhode Island residents and current members of the Armed Forces, $33 for a combination hunting and fishing license, $35 for non-residents, and $16 for a tourist three-consecutive-day license. Licenses are free for anglers over 65 (trout stamp not required) - as well as for those with a 100-percent disability.
The daily creel and possession limit for trout is five from April 9, 2017 through November 30, 2017; and two from December 1, 2017 through February 28, 2018; except in the Wood River between Route 165 and Barberville Dam at Arcadia Road where the daily creel limit is two trout from May 13, 2017 through February 28, 2018. State law requires that boaters always have personal flotation devices for each person, and that they do not drink and operate a boat. Boaters should also be sure their craft is seaworthy before going out on the state's waterways.
Anglers are reminded to be careful about hypothermia. When a person falls into cold water, life expectancy is greatly reduced from exposure to wind and wetness. The body loses heat faster than it can produce it, causing a dangerous reduction of the body's inner temperature. Avoid the conditions that cause hypothermia. Dress warmly and stay dry. Put on rain gear before it rains and wear a wool jacket. Wool traps body heat even when wet. Know the effects which wind has on cold weather. It may be 40 F (7 C) outside with the sun shining, but a 10mph wind lowers the wind-chill temperature to 28 F (-2 C). If hypothermia is suspected, call for help immediately, if possible. To increase the chances of survival, don't discard clothing; it helps trap the body's heat. Do not thrash around in cold water. This only leads to exhaustion, and swirling water takes heat from the body more rapidly than still water. A personal flotation device (PFD) should be worn, especially when in a boat. It lessens the need to move around in the water and it helps to insulate against heat loss. When wearing a PFD, a person should draw their knees into a position known as HELP (Heat Escape Lessening Posture). If there are several people in the water, huddling together with arms around each other's shoulders is the best survival technique. Treatment for hypothermia involves getting heat back into the body and raising the inner temperature.
To guard against invasive aquatic plants, the use of external felt soled or any natural or synthetic porous material capable of absorbing water in any fresh waters in Rhode Island is strictly prohibited. This includes any waters shared with adjacent states in which Rhode Island Fishing Regulations apply.
A list of trout waters and information of interest to anglers can be found on DEM's website, www.dem.ri.gov, by clicking on "Fish and Wildlife" under "Offices and Divisions," and then choosing "Freshwater Fisheries."
Follow DEM on Twitter (@RhodeIslandDEM) or Facebook at www.facebook.com/RhodeIslandDEM for more information on recreational opportunities in Rhode Island as well as other timely updates.