Press Releases


Lt. Governor Roberts Hosts 2010 Leadership Awards

Providence, RI - May 17, 2010

Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts honored Rhode Island’s exemplary high school seniors today at the Rhode Island State House as part of the Lieutenant Governor’s Leadership Awards Program. Initiated in 1993 to recognize high school seniors who have made positive differences in their schools and communities, the program enables each high school in the state to choose one student that best embodies the qualities of a student leader and exhibits both a dedication to scholarship and a commitment to community service. Sgt. FC Claude C Hines of the RI National Guard gave the keynote address and Poetry Out Loud National Winner Amber Johnson performed "Walking Down Park" by Nikki Giovanni.

Participating Schools and Award Recipients:

Barrington High School - Ellen Wetherill Bishop Hendricken HS - William Ricci Bishop Keough High School - Victoria Martins Burrillville High School - Paige V. Westlake Central Falls High School - Andres Rodriguez Central High School - Shannybel Garcia Chariho Regional High School - Mitesh Suthar Classical High School - Emmanuel Ventura-Urena Coventry High School - Sarah E.Skov Cranston Area Career & Technical Center - Gianna L. Velino Cranston High School East - Elizabeth Torres Cranston High School West - Tayla Reo Cumberland High School - Norma I. Ross East Providence Area Career & Technical Center - MelissaPaiva-Haworth East Providence High School - Manuela Matias Teixeira E-Cubed Academy High School - Angie Quiah Exeter - West Greenwich High School - Marina Campbell Feinstein High School - Malane Thou Hope High School Arts - Angeline N. Ochere Hope High School Leadership - Shawntreece Ware Hope High School Technology - Sokdina Keo Immaculate Conception Academy - Margaret Frommling Johnston Senior High School - Jeni Mansolillo La Salle Academy - Jacquelyne Desrosiers Lincoln High School - Mary E. Milner Lincoln School - Miriam Tinberg Middletown High School - Cassondra Turano Moses Brown School - Madison E. Rex Mount Hope High School - Jilian M. Mestre Mount St. Charles Academy - Erica Megan Fletcher Narragansett High School - Hilary A. Humulock North Kingstown High School - Kathryn Bednarczyk North Providence High School - Jacklyn Gil Our Lady of Fatima High School - Jacqueline E. Smiley Pilgrim High School - Leah E. Furney Portsmouth Abbey School - Frank Pagliaro Portsmouth High School - Mary Samantha English Rhode Island Guild of Home Teachers - Timothy J. Clarkin Rocky Hill School - Sarah Taylor Rogers High School - Anne B. Galvin Saint Raphael Academy - Sohill Madan Scituate High School - Jared Hanson Shea High School - Kris Potter Smithfield High School - Cassandra R. Acciaioli South Kingstown High School - Elizabeth Spink St. George's School - Carl Nightingale St. Mary Academy-Bay View - Taylor Jones The Metropolitan Regional Career & Technical Center - Docaris L. Molina The Prout School - Michael Webb The Wheeler School - Laurel Zigerelli Tiverton High School - Alexander R. Schlatter Toll Gate High School - Gloria Kostadinova Trinity Christian Academy - Luis Vargas W. M. Davies Career and Technical High School - Angelique Higgins Warwick Area Career & Technical Center - Katherine McAuslin Warwick Veterans Memorial High School - Christopher Catalfamo West Warwick High School - Dillon Fahey Westerly High School - Zachary Wells William E. Tolman Senior High School - Alejandro Villamil Woonsocket Area Career & Technical Center - Alyshia Johnson Woonsocket Senior High School - Tara Lee Sennick

Related links

Share this: