Subscriber Services

Certain RI.gov services are available only to RI.gov subscribers. To subscribe to RI.gov, please click the "New Subscriber" button below.

  • RI.gov subscribers receive a monthly invoice for all subscriber service transactions. Invoices may be paid by check or electronic account debit.
  • There is an annual RI.gov subscription fee of $75.00 that is billed on your first monthly invoice in addition to the first month's usage. Thereafter, the annual renewal fee of $75.00 will be automatically invoiced on the anniversary date of your account's creation.
  • By becoming a Subscriber you are subject to the terms and conditions of the RI.gov Service Agreement which can be downloaded and printed here.
  • A single subscription can provide access to multiple services, though individuals services are subject to different laws and may require additional forms or approvals. RI.gov can be reached by phone at (401) 831-8099 extension 1 or by E-Mail at .
  • Current Subscribers may update the business's primary contact, billing, user information and request access to another service by clicking the 'Update Subscription' button below.

Available Services

Service Agency Description
Temporary Plate Registration DMV Automobile Dealers are able to produce official temporary plate registrations online.
Title Inquiry DMV Search by registration number or VIN number to obtain a vehicle's most recent title record on file with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles.
Customer Inquiry DMV Search by CID or customer credential to view a customer's record on file with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles.
Drivers License Record Search DMV Search and obtain motor vehicle driver's license records on file with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles.
SI-1 Auto Lien Holder DMV File a security interest, or SI-1 form, for a vehicle with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles and have your lien noted on the vehicle's title.
Oversize/Overweight Trucking Permits DOT Apply online for oversize/overweight trucking permits with the Rhode Island Department of Transportation.
Liquor Transport Renewals DBR Manufacturers may use this service to manage registered alcoholic beverage label registrations required to transport products in to the state of Rhode Island.
Secretary of State Filings SOS Secretary of State business-related filings.
Hunting and Fishing Licenses for Authorized Vendors DEM The ability to sell hunting and fishing licenses online from the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management, Division of Fish and Wildlife.

Fee Schedules

NOTE: Fees are subject to change without notice.

Service Fee Details
Temporary Plate Registration
  • Statutory fees as outlined in RIGL § 31-3-40. Presently the fees are $20 for each plate issued.
  • An Enhanced Access fee of $3.00 will be added to the cost of temporary plates issued via the online system to RI.gov Subscribers.
  • A technology fee of $2.50 will be added to all RI Division of Motor Vehicle transactions including temporary plates.
  • Current total cost per plate issued: $25.50.
Title Inquiry
  • Statutory fees as outlined in RIGL § 31-3.1-6. Presently the fee is $50.00 per Title Inquiry ("Title Search") as amended by the 2009 Rhode Island supplemental budget 2009-H5019 Sub A.
  • An Enhanced Access fee of $2 will be added per Title Inquiry submitted via the online system to RI.gov Subscribers.
  • A technology fee of $2.50 will be added to all RI Division of Motor Vehicle transactions including Title Inquiries.
  • The total transaction cost, per Title Inquiry, is $54.50.
Drivers License Record Search
  • A statutory fee of $16.00 and an enhanced access fee of $2.50 will be accessed to each record pulled.
  • A technology fee of $2.50 will be added to all RI Division of Motor Vehicle transactions including driving records.
  • The total cost of a record will be $21.00.
SI-1 Auto Lien Holder
  • Statutory fees as outlined in RIGL § 31-3.1-19, as amended by 2009 Rhode Island supplemental budget 2009-H5019 Sub A. Presently the fee is $50.00 per SI-1 submitted.
  • A technology fee of $2.50 will be added to all RI Division of Motor Vehicle transactions including security interest, or SI-1, submissions.
  • An Enhanced Access fee of $2 will be added per SI-1 submitted via the online system to RI.gov Subscribers.
  • The total transaction cost, per SI-1 submitted, is $54.50.
Oversize/Overweight Trucking Permits
  • Single Trip Permit under 130,000 lbs.: ($44.50) $40 statutory, $4.50 Enhanced Access Fee
  • Single Trip Permit 130,000 lbs. and over: ($312.00) $300 statutory, $12.00 Enhanced Access Fee
  • Blanket Permit: ($412.00) $400 statutory, $12.00 Enhanced Access Fee
  • Annual Divisible Load Permit: Statutory fee varies based on vehicle, $12.00 Enhanced Access Fee
Liquor Transport Renewals
  • A statutory fee of $40.00 per label and an enhanced access fee of $1.00 will be accessed to each label added / renewed.
Secretary of State Filings
  • An enhanced access fee will be added to each Secretary of State filing. Before you submit, you will have the opportunity to see your transaction's payment breakdown.
Hunting and Fishing Licenses for Authorized Vendors
  • To sell hunting and fishing licenses online, your company must have an active Rhode Island Interactive subscription account.
  • All agents issuing hunting, fresh or saltwater fishing licenses must also be bonded with the State of Rhode Island per RIGL Chapter 20-2. For more information on bonding requirements, contact the office of Boating and Licenses at 401-222-3576
  • Subscription Billing: At the close of each month you will receive an invoice for all transactions obtained online for the current billing period based on the licenses and permits issued by your entity. You may pay this invoice by paper check or by automatic debit. The $75 subscription fee will appear on your first invoice. The subscription fee will be billed annually.

Frequently Asked Questions

General Subscriber FAQs
What if I subscribe and realize I do not need the subscription anymore? Please call our help desk at 401-831-8099 ext. 1 or email rihelp@egov.com to cancel the subscription. If you haven't used it, we will waive the subscription fee and you will not be charged.
What if I'm not sure if I need the subscription? If I sign up, but never use it, will I still be charged the $75 subscription fee? You can always contact our help desk if you are unsure about applying for the subscription and have additional questions. If you have already applied, but have never used the service, just make sure to contact the help desk to close the account before you are billed for the next year. That way we can waive the original $75 fee.
Can I pay for subscriptions by credit card? No, you must pay either by paper check or by e-check (ACH).
When will I get charged the first subscription fee? The initial $75 annual subscription fee will be billed on your first invoice at the time of sign-up and then once every year when the account is up for renewal.
Will we be charged $75 for each service we subscribe to? No, the $75 annual subscription fee covers all service under one umbrella. However, each service does have a price per transaction. For example, the Interactive Driver's License Record service is $21.00 per transaction. Fee Schedules for all subscriber services are available on the RI.gov Subscriber Portal.
To sign up, must I fill out and send in a paper application? You may sign up for a subscriber account on our subscriber portal by visiting www.ri.gov/subscriber and clicking on the 'New Subscriber' button.
How many users does the $75 annual fee cover? A single subscriber can have up to 10 users, each with a unique username and password. A single subscription costs $75 annually and is applied to your first invoice. If you require more than 10 usernames and passwords, you will need to purchase additional subscriptions.
How do I go about updating our subscriber account information (i.e. primary contact info, users, billing, adding a service)? You may update your account by visiting our subscriber portal and clicking on the 'Update Subscription' button.
DOT Oversize/Overweight Permit Subscriber FAQs
What happened to reducible and non-reducible load permits? Reducible load permits are now referred to as divisible load permits. Non-reducible load permits are now referred to as non-divisible load permits.
What permits are available online? Non-divisible load trip permits, annual divisible load permits, and annual non-divisible load construction equipment permits (blanket permits). You may purchase temporary IRP trip permits online by visiting https://www.ri.gov/DMV/irp
Do I need a subscription to purchase oversize/overweight permits online? No, you do not. The subscription is for those who request a high volume of permits and prefer the convenience of receiving a monthly invoice rather than pay-as-you-go.
Will I need a username and password for the new system? Yes, you will need to create an online account. However, you do not need to complete a subscription application unless you determine that you would benefit from an RI.gov subscription.

Please Note: Those who currently hold a subscription for OSOW Permits may sign in with their current passwords. Those who no longer hold an OSOW Permits subscription may reopen the account or use Pay-As-You-Go option, however, you will need to contact to have your credentials reset. If you have never been a subscriber, but have applied for permits in the past, your email address will already be in the system; you will need to click "forgot password" and a link will be emailed to you to reset your password.
Do vehicles registered in Rhode Island need divisible load permits? Yes. They are still required and are available at no charge
What payment options do I have? There are three options for payment:

(1) Become a Subscriber with RI.gov/Rhode Island Interactive to receive a monthly invoice and pay by mailing in a check or sign up to have your payment automatically debited from a checking account via ACH (eCheck). A $75 annual subscription fee will apply.
(2) Pay-as-you-go (by credit card)
(3) Pay-as-you-go (by ACH/eCheck)
What is the difference between a divisible and a non-divisible load? Divisible loads are loads that will decrease in size; for example, a load of bricks. Non-divisible loads are loads that cannot be divided; for example, a backhoe.
What is the difference between a blanket permit and a non-divisible load permit? A blanket permit is an annual permit, which covers all of your vehicles and has more stringent restrictions on size, weight, etc. A non-divisible permit is one time, and you can submit whatever you want in terms of route, size, weight, etc.
Will decals still be sent in the mail for divisible load permits? No, you will now be able to print out the permit and place it in the vehicle instead.
I have questions about what restrictions apply to an oversize/overweight permit. Who should I contact? Please contact Sam Hawkes at the Department of Transportation (DOT) at 401-563-4582 or Samuel.Hawkes@dot.ri.gov.
Temp Plates Subscription FAQs
I have a new employee and I want to get them temp plates access. Is there anyone at the DMV I can contact to update my dealership employee list? Please contact Rosalia Monge by email at Rosalia.Monge@dmv.ri.gov for assistance.
We are an out of state dealership and we are interested in signing up for the Temporary Plates Registration Online service. What do we need to do? You will first need to have a fully executed and approved Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on file with the RI DMV. For more information, you may contact the DMV at 401-462-5733. If you already have a fully executed MOU on file with the DMV you may submit your subscriber agreement online.

Please note:
Per the DMV, Massachusetts and Connecticut Dealers will not be allowed to issue RI Temporary Plates unless they have averaged one (1) vehicle sale per week to Rhode Island residents in the twelve (12) months prior to their making application to issue RI Temporary Plates.
Out of State Dealerships will only be allowed 3 users to have access to the Temporary Plate Registration Online service.