Press Releases


Attorney General Peter F. Kilmartin Honors Two Providence Police Officers with Justice Award for Drug Enforcement

Rhode Island Attorney General Peter F. Kilmartin recently honored several individuals and organizations at the 8th annual Justice Awards. Among those honored were Providence Police officers Kristopher Poplaski and Patrick Potter. The Justice Awards are given to individuals and community organizations in recognition of an extraordinary commitment to justice and the community, and are presented in honor of the eight previous Attorneys General.

Officers Kristopher Poplaski and Patrick Potter are assigned to the Providence Police Department Narcotics and Organized Crime Bureau. During the course of the past year, these two officers conducted several successful narcotic-related investigations that led to the arrest and conviction of several significant drug dealers, the seizure of large quantities of controlled substances – including heroin, marijuana, cocaine – tens of thousands dollars of drug money, and more than 20 illegal firearms.

Officers Poplaski and Potter received the Justice Award for Drug Enforcement, named in honor of former Attorney General Jeff Pine.

"Officers Poplaski and Potter routinely uncover, investigate and apprehend some of the most notorious criminals and drug dealers in Providence. Their diligence, determination and exceptional investigative skills have helped make Providence a safer place," said Attorney General Kilmartin. "They officers epitomize the day-to-day qualities of good police work – they serve with integrity, professionalism and courage, and are an example to their colleagues, as well as the community."

Other recipients of the Justice Awards include: North Providence Acting Police Chief Paul Martellini will receive the Attorney General Dennis Roberts Award for Law Enforcement (Non-Uniform) as nominated by North Providence Police Captain Brendon Furtado.

Rhode Island State Police Trooper Michael A. Ferruccio will receive the Attorney General Richard Israel Award for Law Enforcement (Uniform) as nominated by Colonel Steven G. O'Donnell.

Amos House will receive the Attorney General Arlene Violet Award for Crime Prevention, nominated by Providence Public Safety Commissioner Steven Pare.

Family Service of Rhode Island Victim Service Program will receive the Attorney General Herbert DeSimone Award for Domestic Violence Prevention, as nominated by Margaret Holland McDuff, CEO of Family Service of Rhode Island.

Warwick Police Officer Stephen Lombardi and East Providence Police Officer Thomas Aguiar will receive the Attorney General James O'Neil Award for Senior Protection, as nominated by the Elder Abuse Unit of the Office of Attorney General.

Michael Canole, Donald Englert, James Galvin, Peter McVay, Jacques Moreau and David Sullivan, all of the RI Division of Taxation will receive the Attorney General Sheldon Whitehouse Award for Consumer Protection. They were nominated by RI Department of Revenue Director Rosemary Booth-Gallogly and Chief Revenue Agent Neil Downing.

Clean the Bay will receive the Attorney General Patrick Lynch Award for Environmental Protection as nominated by the Environmental Advocacy Unit of the Office of Attorney General.

Related links

Share this: