# RI.gov: Rhode Island Government

Press Releases


Newport, Washington County Residents Can Register For Federal Assistance

The Rhode Island Emergency Management Agency (RIEMA) announces that Rhode Islanders who live in Newport or Washington Counties and sustained damages or losses from Hurricane Sandy can now register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to determine eligibility for assistance.

"Many residents of Newport and Washington Counties suffered significant damage in Hurricane Sandy," said Governor Lincoln Chafee. "Fortunately, the President has authorized federal assistance to help those most seriously affected by the storm. I urge all residents of these areas in need of assistance to contact FEMA or visit one of the Disaster Recovery Centers to learn more about individual eligibility."

There are three ways to register with FEMA: • Visit DisasterAssistance.gov • Use a smartphone at m.fema.gov • Call 800-621-3362. (TTY: 800-462-7585) Anyone who is registering should have the following information ready and available: • Current and pre-disaster address • Current phone number • Social Security number (FEMA does verify name and Social Security number.) • Insurance information (agency name, policy number, actual policy if possible) • Total household annual income • Description of losses caused by Hurricane Sandy • Bank account and routing number (for direct deposit of assistance funds)

"We encourage anyone from these two counties who is even considering seeking federal assistance to register with FEMA now," said RIEMA Executive Director Theresa C. Murray. "When you register, be prepared to write down your FEMA application number. You will need that number for any future inquiries about your claim. If you called 211 to report damage, you do need to register separately with FEMA. Reports to 211 were for information-gathering purposes only."

Individual assistance (IA) generally is used to assist homeowners with serious unmet needs. Registering with FEMA does not guarantee assistance; however any questions can be directed to FEMA. FEMA can also inform applicants of resources that other federal programs can offer. Each claim is evaluated separately and FEMA makes the final determination whether an applicant is eligible for federal assistance.

Beginning on Friday, November 16, FEMA will open Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs). The DRCs listed below will be open on Friday, 11/16 and Saturday, 11/17 from 8 a.m. – 6 p.m., and on Sunday, 11/18 from 1 p.m. – 6 p.m. FEMA staff will be available to provide technical assistance or to answer claim-specific questions at:

• Middletown: Middletown Police Department, 123 Valley Road • South Kingstown: Union Fire Station, 131 Asa Pond Road • Westerly: St. Clair's Church, 62 Crandall Avenue

Applicants are not required to go to a DRC to register.


Related links

Share this: