Press Releases


Media Advisory: RIDOT announces Highway Safety Champion Award winners

The Rhode Island Department of Transportation (RIDOT) today announced the recipients of the 2013 Highway Safety Champion Awards. The Awards recognize law enforcement officers for their outstanding performance in carrying out speed, occupant-protection, and alcohol-impaired enforcement activities in 2012. These safety campaigns were sponsored by RIDOT's Office on Highway Safety. The officers will be formally recognized during an awards ceremony this week hosted by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD).

WHAT: RIDOT will recognize 11 law enforcement officers from across Rhode Island as of the 2013 Highway Safety Champion Award recipients. Additionally, two police departments, Cranston Police and Middletown Police, will receive an agency award.

WHEN: MADD's "TeamSpirit" Conference, Wednesday, July 31, at 10:30 a.m.

WHERE: Bryant University, Janikies Auditorium, 1150 Douglas Pike, Smithfield, RI.

DIRECTIONS: Take I-295 to Exit 8B for Route 7 North (Douglas Pike). In 0.4 of a mile, turn left into the Bryant University main entrance. Take the first right, which leads to a large parking lot. Walk away from the lot toward the campus buildings, past the library. Janikies Auditorium is directly ahead, in a large glass building with a domed roof.

BACKGROUND: The Highway Safety Champion Awards are given annually, and RIDOT has provided grant funding for MADD's "TeamSpirit" Conference for more than 20 years. The conference is a community-based leadership program serving youth in Rhode Island and southeastern Massachusetts. The conference focuses on providing training and education on the dangers of underage drinking, impaired driving, failure to wear seat belts, and the fatal consequences of distracted driving.

The following officers will be recognized:

Officer Ryan C. Hughes, Burrillville Police

Sergeant Joseph D. Tougas, Central Falls Police

Sergeant John P. Andrews, East Providence Police

Officer Steven J. Ferreira, Middletown Police

Patrolman Noel M. Field, III, Providence Police

Trooper Peter A. Filuminia, Trooper Franklin T. Navarro, Trooper Darnell S. Weaver, and Trooper Conor S. O'Donnell, Rhode Island State Police

Officer Matthew S. Moretti, Warwick Police

Officer Jason L. Berthelette, Woonsocket Police

Contact: Rose Amoros 401-222-1362 x4450

Related links

  • Department or agency: Department of Transportation
  • Online:
  • Release date: 07-29-2013

Share this: