Press Releases


Seven declared candidates for Senate District 11 Special Election

Three Republicans, three Democrats and one Independent have declared their candidacy for the Senate District 11 seat formerly occupied by Christopher Ottiano.

Gregory Steven Blythe (I) of Portsmouth, Joan B. Chabot (R) of Tiverton, Kenneth Mendonca (R) of Portsmouth, John A. Pagliarini, Jr. (R) of Tiverton, Brett N. Pelletier (D) of Tiverton, Amy G. Rice (D) of Portsmouth, and James Arthur Seveney (D) of Portsmouth.

State law authorizes the Secretary of State to order a special election to fill a vacancy. The Special Election will take place on Tuesday, January 5, 2016. A special Primary election will take place on Tuesday, December 1.

Senate District 11 includes parts of Bristol, Portsmouth, and Tiverton.

Special Election Calendar

October 22-23 Declaration of candidacy period
October 26 Endorsement deadline (district committee)
October 27 Endorsement deadline (state committee if district committee failed to endorse)
November 1 Voter registration deadline for primary
November 3 Nomination papers filed with local boards
November 10 Primary mail ballot application deadline
December 1 PRIMARY
December 6 Voter registration deadline for election
December 15 Election mail ballot application deadline
January 5 ELECTION

Related links

  • Department or agency: Office of the Secretary of State
  • Online:
  • Release date: 10-23-2015

Share this: