Press Releases


Five RI civic leaders receive the 2017 National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) Medallion Award

PROVIDENCE, RI Secretary of State Nellie M. Gorbea recognized three individuals and two institutions with the 2017 NASS Medallion Award at a ceremony held this afternoon at the State House. State Senator Erin Lynch Prata of Warwick; Aram Garabedian of Cranston; Shanna Wells of West Warwick; the Providence Student Union; and the Rhode Island Foundation all received the NASS Medallion Award from Secretary Gorbea.

"Rhode Island is fortunate to have such an incredible selection of community leaders," Secretary Gorbea said. "Leaders who inspire Rhode Islanders from all walks of life into taking an active role in their community."

As chairwoman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, State Senator Erin Lynch Prata was recognized for her leadership in sponsoring legislation that makes it easier for Rhode Islanders to be engaged such as Early In-Person Voting, Lobby Reform, and the National Popular Vote. Aram Garabedian was recognized for his longstanding civic leadership, having served the community both as an elected official and as a board member of several Rhode Island nonprofit organizations. Shanna Wells is the organizer of the Rhode Island Women's Solidarity Rally held in support of the Women's March on Washington. She was recognized for her leadership as a community organizer. The Providence Student Union was honored for their commitment to civic education and engagement and the pivotal role they played in helping to pass Automatic Voter Registration in our state. Finally, the Rhode Island Foundation was honored for their leadership in creating public private partnerships that are empowering Rhode Islanders while strengthening our state.

"Today's honorees remind us that civic participation is critical to our success as a state," Secretary Gorbea added. "As leaders, we must create the opportunities for all Rhode Islanders to be a part of the conversations that affect them."

The NASS Medallion award was created by the National Association of Secretaries of State to recognize outstanding public service and civic engagement. Secretaries of State are given the opportunity to award up to five NASS Medallions each year to individuals and organizations who have demonstrated remarkable civic leadership in their state. Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the oldest nonpartisan, professional association of public officials in the United States.

Related links

  • Department or agency: Office of the Secretary of State
  • Online:
  • Release date: 11-15-2017

Share this: