Press Releases


Treasurer Magaziner honors 57 high school juniors in Rhode Island with 'Young Leader' Award

Rhode Island Treasurer Seth Magaziner recognized fifty-seven high school juniors from across the Ocean State with the Young Leader Award.

The award is presented to high school juniors in the state of Rhode Island who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in math, economics, finance and business-related courses, and is active in his or her community.

The Treasurer presented the 2019 Young Leader Award to the following students:

Jorge A. Vargas, Academy for Career Exploration (ACE) Juliana E. Johnson, Barrington Christian Academy Owen Voigt, Barrington High School Aidan C. Piekarski, Beacon Charter School Robert Whalen, Bishop Hendricken High School Barthima Nyeswa, Blackstone Academy Charter School Devon J. Gravel, Burrillville High School Leslie Henriquez, Central Falls Senior High School Lina Altaan Al Hariri, Central High School Ayanna Rowe, Classical High School Zachary A. Crute, Coventry High School Colin J. Theilig, Cranston Area Career Technical Center Matthew D. Mellor, Cranston High School East George K. Cacchiotti, Cranston High School West Daniela Munoz, Cumberland High School Dory J. Aine, Dr. Jorge Alvarez High School Morgan Elizabeth Prior, East Greenwich High School Jordan Durfee, East Providence High School Cassidy Martins, East Providence Career and Technical Center Angel A. Pichardo De La Cruz, E-Cubed Academy Malinda P. Fry, Exeter-West Greenwich Regional High School Jose Quintanilla, Hope High School Dylan Prew, Jacqueline M. Walsh School for the Performing and Visual Arts Christopher L. Flanagan, Johnston Senior High School Colby Acciardo, Lincoln Senior High School Keegan Bonds-Harmon, Metropolitan Regional Career and Technical Center Regan H. McEnroe, Middletown High School Matthew H. Andrews, Moses Brown School Juan J. Fernandez Castellanos, Mount Pleasant High School Aidan Turner, Mount St. Charles Academy Madison E. Rodriques, Mt. Hope High School Aiden J. Moran, Narragansett High School Ryan F. Duarte, NEL/CPS Construction Career Academy Nathan A. Murphy, Newport Area Career and Technical Center Cecelia C. Mascena, North Kingstown Senior High School Ethan Gemma, North Providence High School James R. Hanlon, North Smithfield High School Olivia R. Kiernan, Pilgrim High School Samuel DiNovella, Portsmouth High School Glenmarie Figueroa Perez, Providence Career and Technical Academy Naiviv Ortiz, RI Nurses Institute Middle College Charter High School Ben Pogacar, Rocky Hill School Stella E. Garcia, Rogers High School Brenden Machowski, Scituate High School Sayara Silwal, Shea Senior High School Timothy Ferron, Smithfield High School Joseph Noel, St. Raphael Academy Sean Petrie, The Prout School Brittany Bennet, The Wheeler School Harshil R. Patel, Tiverton High School Sara J. Crook, Toll Gate High School Virsavia Goretoy, West Warwick Senior High School Nicholas L. Lauzon, Westerly High School Erica Prempeh, William E. Tolman Senior High School Soraia Hazard, Wm. M. Davies Jr. Career-Technical High School Christian Teachout, Woonsocket Area Career and Technical Center Holly Viphakone, Woonsocket High School

"As I meet with students across the State, I am constantly inspired by their dedication," said Treasurer Magaziner. "From Westerly to Woonsocket; these high school juniors have a record of achievement in the classroom, as well as being active in their community. It is my privilege to recognize members of this generation's outstanding young leaders."

The award, which was presented during a ceremony at the Rhode Island State House on Monday evening, recognizes the students' outstanding achievement in business-related courses, as well as a commitment to their community and demonstrating strong leadership skills. Each awardee is nominated by school administrators.

# # #

A photo of Rhode Island General Treasurer Seth Magaziner with the 2019 Young Leader Award winners can be downloaded at the link below.

Contact: Evan England, Director of Communications (401) 222-2240 | (401) 439-2199 (mobile)

Related links

  • Department or agency: Office of General Treasurer Seth Magaziner
  • Online:
  • Release date: 05-14-2019

Share this: