Press Releases



Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts, Major General Robert T. Bray join to honor the ultimate sacrifices of SGT Moises Jazmin and SGT Michael J. Weidemann

PROVIDENCE—Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts was joined on Saturday by Congressman Jim Langevin, and Major General Robert T. Bray of the Rhode Island National Guard to honor fallen Rhode Islanders SGT. Michael J. Weidemann and SGT. Moises Jazmin at a ceremony held at the Garden of Heroes. Roberts, Langevin, and Bray were joined by Rhode Island’s Gold Star families to add Weidemann and Jazmin’s names to the 17 other service men and women included on the memorial at the Garden of Heroes. The memorial honors all Rhode Island service men and women who have lost their lives serving their country during operations in support of the global war on terrorism since September 11, 2001.

“Although today’s ceremony is a simple act, it is a powerful act of remembrance for those Rhode Islanders who have bravely served and selflessly given their lives to protect our country and our freedoms,” said Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts. “Acts of remembrance like gathering here today help ensure that we will never take for granted how fortunate we are and never forget the service of our Armed Forces, especially the service of the young men and women memorialized at the Garden of Heroes.”

The garden, located on the southwest lawn of the State House, was created by legislation introduced on behalf of Lt. Gov. Charles Fogarty by Sen. Majority Leader M. Teresa Paiva-Weed and House Majority Leader Gordon Fox. Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts is continuing the lieutenant governor’s office tradition of supporting our men and women of the Armed Forces with programs like Operation Holiday Cheer, the Military Family Relief Fund, and the Garden of Heroes.

Below is a complete list of the service members honored in the Garden of Heroes.

SGT Gregory A. Belanger, Army Reserve SSG Joseph Camara, Army National Guard SGT Charles T. Caldwell, Army National Guard SPC Michael Andrade, Army National Guard CW5 Sharon T. Swartworth, Army CPT Matthew J. August, Army SFC Curtis Mancini, Army Reserve MSG Richard L. Ferguson, Army L/Cpl Matthew K. Serio, Marine Corps CPT Christopher S. Cash, Army L/Cpl John J. Van Gyzen IV, Marine Corps SSG Christopher S. Potts, Army National Guard L/Cpl Holly A. Charette, Marine Corps 2LT Matthew S. Coutu, Army SGT Dennis J. Flanagan, Army SGT Brian R. St. Germain, Marine Corps SSG Dale James Kelly, Jr., Army National Guard SGT Moises Jazmin, Army SGT Michael J. Weidemann, Army


Related links

Share this: