PROVIDENCE – The Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management (DEM) will be stocking 2,000 hatchery-raised trout in four ponds across Rhode Island next week in advance of Thanksgiving weekend – a popular time for recreational fishing.
"I hope anglers of all ages will take time on Thanksgiving weekend to reconnect with the outdoors and head out to a favorite fishing spot to reel in these beautiful brook, brown and rainbow trout," said DEM Director Janet Coit. "Fishing is a time-honored Rhode Island tradition and a wonderful way to create memories with family and friends, especially during the holiday season."
The following waters will be stocked with one to one and a quarter-pound rainbow and brook trout: • Lincoln – Olney Pond (Lincoln Woods State Park) • Richmond – Meadowbrook Pond • Tiverton – Stafford Pond
The following waters will be stocked with trophy-sized brown trout: • Coventry – Carbuncle Pond
Winter trout stocking will be offered in January 2019.
A 2018 fishing license is required for anglers 15 years of age and older. A Trout Conservation Stamp is also required of anyone wishing to keep or possess a trout or to fish in a catch-and-release or 'fly-fishing only' area. Trout Stamps are not required for persons possessing trout taken from a lake or pond that shares a border with Rhode Island. Fishing licenses can only be purchased online at www.dem.ri.gov/huntfish. Online fishing licenses and the Trout Conservation Stamp can also be obtained via an authorized agent. Visit the DEM website for a current list of licensed vendors. Anglers are encouraged to check the list prior to visiting a vendor to purchase a license.
License fees are $18 for Rhode Island residents and current members of the Armed Forces, $33 for a combination hunting and fishing license, $35 for non-residents, and $16 for a tourist three-consecutive-day license. Licenses are free for anglers over 65 (trout stamp not required) - as well as for those with a 100-percent disability.
The daily creel and possession limit for trout is five from April 14, 2018, through November 30, 2018; and two from December 1, 2018, to February 28, 2019.
Anglers are reminded to be careful about hypothermia. Hypothermia is caused by exposure to cold weather, wind, rain, or submersion in cold water. It can set in when the body core temperature reaches 95 degrees Fahrenheit and is marked by shivering, dizziness, trouble speaking, lack of coordination, confusion, faster heartbeat and shallow breathing. It is important to look for these symptoms in children and the elderly who may not be focused on this hazard. When in the outdoors, especially in low temperatures, dress in layers and wear a warm hat and gloves. If hypothermia is suspected, call for help immediately and move the victim to a warmer environment, removing wet clothing and covering with warm layers of clothing or blankets.
State law requires that boaters always have personal flotation devices for each person, and that they do not consume alcohol and operate a boat. Boaters should also be sure their craft is seaworthy before going out on the state's waterways.
To prevent the spread of invasive weeds and other harmful aquatic "hitch hikers," Rhode Island strictly prohibits the use of external felt soled or any natural or synthetic porous material capable of absorbing water in any freshwaters in the state. This includes any waters shared with adjacent states in which Rhode Island fishing regulations apply. For more information about the harm caused by invasive plants, click here.
For a list of designated trout waters and information of interest to anglers visit www.dem.ri.gov. Follow DEM on Twitter (@RhodeIslandDEM) or Facebook at www.facebook.com/RhodeIslandDEM for timely updates.